My Wife Gives Me Two Weeks Off For Good Behavior Every Year-Scandinavia-Summer 2011


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Örebro County » Örebro
August 12th 2011
Published: June 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

OrebroOrebroOrebro

Orebro Canal?
Friday, august 12, 2011

I rode from Filipstad to Orebro. Only 100 km. My legs are sore. I guess the lack of sleep, mountains, & equipment are catching up w/me. The drunken fisherman, Tomas, was up bright & early annoying me & everyone else. He was a horrible time-suck.

I began the day by taking the advice of one of the campground guys & went to Cafe Luis. Re lately cheap, but not good. Big portions, & a small roll to go. That with tunfish as they say here & I not only had a mid morning snack, but a video of life on the road eating lunch. I took the main roads which at first weren't so bad.

After Nora-tourist trap w/ junk shops- it really picked up! I finally took one of those unmarked side roads, or should I say several of those roads. W/out signs or markers it's nearly impossible to find your way. I only went @ 12 km, but it was awful! The scenery was beautiful. Tiny communities complete w/churches and UNMARKED bike paths. Would it kill them to put up a few signs directing bikers to orebro? I must have stopped at least a dozen people to ask confirm/ask where to go. Once there, I went to the centrum. I asked @ campgrounds, but got vague answers. I saw two backpackers who confirmed there was a hostel. Eurohostel seems to be a chain with consistently good palces to stay. A snooty, exasperated clerk checked me in. The hostel has breakfast buffet included w/ the meal.

When i asked Miss Stick-up-her-ass where to go for beer, food & guitar music, she lit up. Telling me how you'd think she'd know where to go but hasn't been out in a long time, she gave me a few suggestions. In route, I found a castle complete w/a moat. The moat had a small submerged plane. I took a quick look around the castle, and even went inside. I went up the stairs on my wobbly, tired biking legs, and took a mini tour of what little was open. There was a society meeting where a men's club was standing & toasting in a singing style. I thought of the orgy/illuminato scene from Eyes Wide Shut, and thought twice @ taking pics.

After cutting out, I found a place across the street where the
OrebroOrebroOrebro

Orebro at Night
burgers & beer were great, and I even met a couple of guys to drink with. Tomas & Johan. Engineers in their mid-thirties. This town turned out to be great! Everyone is on bcicyle or on foot, and all are out barhoppping at midnight in this style. This is my kind of lifestyle!

I have exactly 200 km to go to Stockholm. I look to be there by mid-day sunday, and am hoping for a Monday night ferry, arriving in Finland Tuesday morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

OrebroOrebro
Orebro

Orebro at Night


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb