Sweden and Denmark


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden
October 14th 2005
Published: October 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Main SquareMain SquareMain Square

The city hall in the main square of Malmo.
Where the heck to begin....

Lets see on the 4th Oct I caught the bus to Stanstead airport to catch the last Ryanair flight (thank god) that I plan on taking whilst in the UK. I landed in Malmo (Sweden) reasonably late and headed to my hostel in the south of the city. It was a very nice place. I work early due to lack of sleep from the snoring in the dorm and headed out in the mist to walk the streets of Malmo.

It was a tad foggy which added to the mystery of the place. Swedish is remarkably similar to German so it was not a prob working out where everything was. I went for a stroll through the main streets and squares, past the Rathaus and canals. Wandered through the parks and gardens and admired the Viking ships docked in the harbour. It is a very relaxing place after coming from London. The next day I jumped on a train early in the morning and was in Copenhagen (Denmark) 30 minutes later! It was so quick that I was there before the shops were even open, so I had to deprive myself of yet more shoes in order to see some of the city.

Copenhagen was unexpectantly warm for this time of the year. I found a hostel, dumped my gear and headed off on the 3 Lonely Planet walking treks through the city. As you can see from the pics it is a picture perfect city. I spent a lot of time making my way around the H.C.Andersen streets and finally ended up at the Harbour to see his famous Little Mermaid on the rocks. I saw Princess Mary and Prince Frederik's place, the Rasthaus, more churches and lots of sculptures (can't you tell I don't have my guide book with me - I can't remember the names!).

So when I had run out of steam (walking from 8am to 8pm pretty much non stop) I headed for a cafe to give me a boost for the walk back to the hostel. I met a really nice bloke from Melbourne at the hostel, his uncle owned the big pie place on the road to Melbourne in Horsham - I am now officially entitled to free pies for life! He lost his mate in Sweden somewhere and his phone didn't work so I
Windmills in MalmoWindmills in MalmoWindmills in Malmo

It wouldn't be Sweden without them.
came to the rescue. When we worked out the he was in the North of Denmark but out of cash his mate got him on a train heading South to Copenhagen. We had a good laugh and he was happy when I gave him all my employment contacts for London as he was going to work there for 3 months.

The next day I wanted to catch the bus to Lund back in Sweden, only so I could travel over the Osterund (excuse the spelling) bridge. It was incredible, i suggest you all google the name and have a look at pics of it. Finding a hostel in Lund was lucky because it only has one and was fully booked for the night, lucky me got a bed. It was a series of train carriages....let me tell you the novelty ran out very quickly - 3 beds in a room no larger than my parents loo back home!!!

Well after backing out of my room, for lack of being able to turn around, I made my way to see the main cathedral with the famous Zodiac Clock. It was a very cute city with more bikes than I
 Library and lake Library and lake Library and lake

Malmo's castle library, mixing the old with the new.
have ever seen in my life. It reminded me of Oxford with Swedish charm. After all the travelling I found a huge tree in the botanical gardens, sat my but down with lunch and a cuppa and read my book for a few hours. I shopped and headed back to the hostel ready for the early bus ride to Malmo airport the next day. One night to do the washing and then pack for Marrakesh.....

Luv Tania


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Copenhagen at lunchCopenhagen at lunch
Copenhagen at lunch

One of the beautiful canals in the city.
Little MermaidLittle Mermaid
Little Mermaid

Copenhagen Harbour
LundLund
Lund

The leaves are starting to turn.


Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb