Sightseeing in Sweden!


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden
September 20th 2007
Published: October 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I love this place!!!....I love this place!!!....I love this place!!!....

This is where I saw the Northern lights!
Hello, hello!

Once I managed to land myself a ride through Sweden, I relaxed into the passenger seat and started to work on my navigation skills. Of course, it was only a few short hours before we were whipping u-turns and sneaking into saunas (sometimes you have to be creative when you are camping and need a shower!)

We wound past the fjords, over bridges, making our way south and stopping for periodic hikes and sightseeing in and among picnics. Unfortunately, the second day of our journey, we stopped for a picnic breakfast, whereupon Claudia managed to lodge a knife solidly between her thumb and index finger. Needless to say, I had a crash course at driving standard, and managed to get us to the hospital, following a local that didn't speak English no less) with only two stalls (starting and parking - apparently I am not quick enough with my shifting).

Luckily a few stitches and ridiculously large hand bandage put us back on track and we continued on our way, making incredibly slow progress on account of the beauty of the land around us. There were snow capped mountains, entrancing fall leaves, and lakes and rivers abound. We started following the interior and sticking by the mountains for pristine hiking and made our way to the coast to finish up our Sweden journey.

We also decided on a slight detour back to Finland, just to check out the famous ice breaker and settled in for a night on the Arctic circle. Yep - on the arctic circle... we found the exact border and camped out a night there - and what a spectacular night. We had been checking out the sky every night since Norway, desperate to see the northern lights, but we were informed that not only were we too early, but it was not cold enough for them to appear. However, the night we stayed in the arctic, Claudia was heading out to prepare some dinner and there was a sudden shriek and beckoning for me to come. I dropped the bags of food and ran out, sandals, wool socks, skirt and toque... and there is was. Dancing and floating all across the sky, inexplicable and indescribable northern lights. We grabbed each other and let out cries of joy, jumping up and down and immediately ran for chairs, beer, and quilts (as I said, we were travelling in luxury with her car!!!) and sat back to enjoy one of the most memorable moments ever. I knew it was impossible, but I would try now and again to take a picture, failing each time, and unable to take my eyes off the sky or move even as the cold settled in.

The northern lights remain unrivaled, but the views of Sweden were spectacular, and we would constantly take time for picnics, breaks, and long hikes... even venturing far out to reach some of the snow, before making up a bit of time in order to catch up with John.

More to come...

Trish xxx





Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

TrollsTrolls
Trolls

A tradition in Sweden ;0)
Hiking in Sweden...Hiking in Sweden...
Hiking in Sweden...

soooo beautiful!
A weather station...A weather station...
A weather station...

in the middle of nowhere!
Me & My man...Me & My man...
Me & My man...

I mean, snowman!
Another viewAnother view
Another view

I love Sweden!
SceneryScenery
Scenery

in Sweden
The Icebreaker!The Icebreaker!
The Icebreaker!

This thing smashed the ice for all the other boats in the arctic circle!


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb