Sweden Come Rain or Shine!


Advertisement
Published: July 28th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Norway to Sweden


Under construction....what I can tell you ...I am in Sweden!

Up early, showered, dogs fed, car packed and we were off to Sweden! We hummed and hawed the night before on how we wanted to get there, options being by boat or car and opted for the car ride as it allowed us to sleep in until 5am 😊

It was a long drive but the singing, eating and sight seeing made the drive feel like nothing. Our first stop as tourists was to get an up close and personal view of the windmills also known as wind turbines. It also gave us a chance to stretch our legs and empty our bladders.

The country side in Sweden much resembled that or Norway however the roads dont twist and turn quite as much.

Our second stop was a massive castle or fortess called Bohus. Bohus Fortress lies along the old Norwegian–Swedish border in Kungälv, Bohuslän, Sweden, north east from Hisingen where the Göta river splits into two branches. It is 20 km away from our destination which was Gothenburg. One can see from the pictures the beautiful view we had once we reached the top. The highest point is 40 metres high, with the river forming a natural moat around it. From the top, Andreas pointed out cows which turned out to be goat and sheep grazing on the other side of the river. The entire place reminded me of a project I did with Andrew when he was in grade school on Midevil times. There is a picture of a model here. I would like to think that ours was quality as good. 😉 We were able to gather tid bits of information from a tour guide as well as a few information posts. It's amazing to be there with all that history. Construction began in 1308 . Interestingly, it was originally Norwegian territory and it served as a main Norwegian defence against Sweden along the coast as well as the strong point for the Bohuslän region from 1308 until 1658.

While leaving the fortress, I was taking a picture of Andy and Andreas and managed to slip on the mud. There I went straight down and covered on mud. Fortunately, I had a change of clothes in the car. I changed my clothes and we went into a small diner on the same property. There we sat at a window on some stools and had some traditional Swedish food for lunch.

After lunch, we went in different directions to the bathrooms and the car. Before I get started on this next story which still makes me chuckle out loud, I have to mention that EVERYONE seems to drive a black BMW here! After lunch and all going our own way, oh I have to also mention it was pouring rain. So again, after lunch, we all went our own way and I was returning to the car. Running as fast as I could possibly do so in the rain, hopping puddles and trying not to slip. Oh I should mention, Andy moved the car, and I wasn't aware of this sooooo again, after all of us going our own way and I returning to the car, running as fast as I could possibly do so in the rain, hopping puddles and trying not to slip, I come to the black, BMW, grab the door handle, swung open the door, and wondered where all our stuff was. Then I look closer, and to my surprise, the man in the car was not Gry or Andy! So I apologized and run for shelter while I scoped out the other 10 black Bms I the parking lot. I then see Andy getting into one of them and make a run for it. I was laughing so hard, I could hardly tell my story.



Had dinner at Kallarkrogen. A cute little restaurant with brick ceilings. I had the Blackened sirloin steak, with a tomato & jalapeno sauce, fried oyster mushrooms & roasted potatoes. Andy and Gry had the Beef Provencale Which was a roasted steak fillet on a bed of fried potatoes fried in fresh garlic, served with butter fried mushrooms, haricot vertes & garlic butter. Andy wished he had ordered mine as we both love the spices food!








Additional photos below
Photos: 106, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb