A Day Off in Stockholm


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
February 23rd 2016
Published: February 23rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

After days of rigorous training, sore legs and hard work, this little granny was pretty excited about the prospect of a day off in Stockholm.

Our first stop was the Vasa maritime museum, which is dedicated entirely to the recovery of a ship that sunk in Stockholm Harbour within a few hundred metres of its launch in 1623 and was recovered from the muddy bottoms in 1961. Remarkably, the ship has been restored to incredible condition despite being submerged in salt water for a few hundred years. I got a real kick out of all the lion heads carved above each of the cannon port holes, and I also learned that the astrological fire signs such as my fellow Leos are "prepared to draw their swords in anger".... so I guess that explains why I like to get so aggro with my stick when I'm playing defence!



After the museum, it was a pleasant 30 minute walk along the waterfront to the Old Town, where we discovered vegan paradise for lunch, a cool bike shop, and a wee hoarder's treasure trove.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb