One eyed Jack on the move


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
September 9th 2005
Published: December 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, ready or not, today is the day I am departing for Bhutan, and no stupid eye is going in between. My project manager was very reluctant to see me go even though he had okayed my holiday himself, although cleverly pretending not to remember any such arrangements. He also suggested that if I felt that my holiday would be spoiled by a damaged eye I was welcome to continue work on the project instead. Yeah right, fat chance! Instead my bags are packed and it is early rise to catch the bus to Stockholm which departs at 6.30, and all things considered it is a comfortable ride. I succeed in being asleep for the most part. Arriving at Stockholm Central Station I quickly transfer to the airport express train and arrive at Arlanda airport without any hassle. Granted my left eye keeps running and I have some problems with bright lights outside, but on a whole it is endurable.

Walking around the terminal looking for the Thai Airways counter i bump in to some poor upset travellers whose airline has gone bankrupt and they are standing there ticket in hand being informed that as part of the liquidation process the airplane has apparently been sold. After checking in I walk around the two identical terminals buying some snacks and generally being bored. The window seats are all taken, but i get a decent aisle seat in the rear compartment next to a charming Thai girl and an annoying Swedish self-appointed big businessman thinking he's the most interesting person around, going on about all his travels here and there and yada yada yada. It takes one to know one, as they say...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb