Sweden - Stockholm


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
July 27th 2007
Published: August 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Sweden - Stockholm


Wary TravelerWary TravelerWary Traveler

Maybe I have been traveling too long? This is a picture of me when I got off the train in Stockholm.
7-27-07
I woke around 6 listening to the birds chirping out the portal hole. I fell back asleep with the gentle breeze flowing through the window and to the sound of the rustling waves. About 8 I heard a boat drive by, which seemed a little funny to me and at 9 I arose from my slumber. I went upstairs to take a shower. The showers shut off automatically and only stayed on for a short period of time. After awhile they seemed to get cold. I wondered if the coldness was by design to conserve water or just bad plumbing. It was still quite amazing to even be taking a shower on a boat like this. I think everyone there probably realized that some conveniences would not be present, since we were indeed on a boat. I got my stuff packed and got going. I walked to where a bunch of tall ships were moored. I had gotten lucky and stumbled into a Tallship race in Stockholm. I had always wanted to see one of those. The races however had been yesterday and another one on Monday. Not sure I would catch that either and then again I assume the
Hostel WindowHostel WindowHostel Window

The view from my Hostel window! Not too shabby.
races or way offshore and not visible from shore anyway like were the case in Key West. These ships are amazing. There was one ship that stated it had gotten it's popularity from the movie, "windjammer”.

After spending significant time at these boats and salivating all over the docks, I headed back into town in search of internet and a bank. My credit/ATM card expires the end of this month along with my rail pass, which is going to be a sad day. I love my rail pass. It would be interesting to know what the cost of these trains would have been had I not had the rail pass. It would't surprise me if it cost $5,000, where I only paid $1,800. I definitely got my money's worth. I suspect most people do not travel like I have been, only spending a couple days in a place and moving on.

As I walked I stopped and grabbed some milk and some tarts. They were ok, but I had about 2 too many and didn't feel too well after eating them all. I am not much on throwing food away, but sometimes I would be better off if
Tall Ships on the MoveTall Ships on the MoveTall Ships on the Move

I got to see some of the Tall Ships heading out for the regatta.
I did. I walked around and found a bank, but it was closed. I suspected this would be a reoccurring problem today. I could wait a few days before getting my cash, but I really did not want to wait until the last day.

I walked back across the bridge into Stockholm proper to find internet. I had walked around most of the morning and had never used the internet. I needed to contact the couchsurfing host. I had my backpack on, but for some reason it did not feel that heavy. I had my legs under me again. There for awhile mainly during my stay in Barcelona and about a week on each side of that date my arches in my feet felt like they were partially collapsed. Then I got that cold for about 2 weeks, where I was a sick puppy. That was one of the worst colds I have had in my life and as a person might expect; I had zero energy and moved around at a snail's pace. What did the snail say, who was riding on the turtle's back? Answer - Weeeeeeeee!

I went into a 7-11 and used their internet for a fee of course. I spent about 1.5 hours doing that. I was scheduled to meet Magda at 2:30 and then to go and stay with Kajsa. I sent emails to that affect. Man it would be so nice to have a phone, but that would be quite expensive even though at times it would be worth it and it would probably pay for itself in a couple more couchsurfing places to stay. I requested a few places to stay in Vienna, but have not been too successful. If I can not find a place there, I will probably just shorten my stay and move on as I recently found a place to stay near Salzburg, which sounds like has some good hiking, which I crave.

From there I walked to the train station and went to the Kirstenberg stop, which is where I was to meet Magda. I was about 30 minutes early and waited around until 2:30 when Magda arrived right on time. Magda took me to her new massage shop and we had a cup of organic coffee. It was actually quite good. I wished my body handled the caffeine in coffee a little better
Sweden CountrysideSweden CountrysideSweden Countryside

Lots of lakes like this all over Sweden. It reminds me of Minnesota. This picture was take through a train window thus poor quality.
as I would like to sit around drinking coffee like most people do.

Magda had renovated this place where her boyfriend use to live so she was getting the building for free and she just had the expense of fixing it up. Magda is formerly from Russia and I got the impression is working hard for everything she gets in life. I am usually too cheap to pay for a massage, but I told her if she would give me a discounted rate I would pay for one. I told her that I really did not feel too bad, but my right shoulder blade and right hip give me problems. She said a full body massage was what I needed. I said ok. She said I can't have the massage now as I just drank the coffee. She suggested we go for a walk and we walked down to the water's edge, which was near her place. I asked her about swimming and she said people just jump in and swim anywhere stating the water is very clean. I wanted to swim sometime when I am in Stockholm, but wasn't equipped to do so here.

We walked back and began the massage. I was really surprised how thorough the massage and how rough. She would loosen the muscles up and then crack my spine. Often the vertebrae cracked. I thought of how Dad use to talk about Bemis (his chiropractor) use to crack his spine. I wondered if this lady I had just met even knew how to properly do this, I then jokingly thought my trip is going to end right here with me paralyzed. I tried to relax as much as possible, thinking the more I resisted the better chance she would not hurt me in some form. I am not sure why I didn't tell her to stop the vertebrae cracking, but I didn't. I think I kept thinking she was probably about done. She worked from my head and hands all the way to my toes. It was quite interesting. When we were done she looked tired and actually I felt a little tired too as this is not one of those relaxing massages. I called it the Spine Cracker, but I think she just said it was a full body massage. I genuinely think it really helped my hip and my shoulder some
Boat HostelBoat HostelBoat Hostel

I slept here my first night in Stockholm. Yes it is on a boat.
too. My spine felt more aligned too. I know that might sound crazy, but I did feel more in alignment. That was the greatest sensation I had upon leaving her place is a straight spine. I paid her 150 kroners for the procedure or about $30. It took about 30 minutes in length. I told her I would like to come back once more before leaving as she said she would give me the next one even cheaper and I genuinely thought it helped, but thought next time I tell her not to be quite so rough as I did not want any paralysis.

I said goodbye and was off to meet Kajas the lady I would be staying with. I arrived at Kajas around 6:00 and really felt tired. Kajas is a very interesting lady. A few years earlier she said she was in a very bad car accident and had problems moving a leg and a hand as a result. This caused her some movement restrictions. Kajas ask if I was hungry, which if you know me, the answer is of course YES. She fixed a very good omelet and we had some bread with it. I
Boat HostelBoat HostelBoat Hostel

The Boat Hostel. There are several boat hostels in Stockholm. The most famous one is under renovation and was not available when I was there.
wanted to go out this night, but I was just wiped out. So after supper I ask Kajas if she wanted to watch a movie. She does not have a tv, but has a lap top. The movie I picked to watch was not in English nor did it have English subtitles so we chose a different one called Coffee and Cigarettes. This turned out to be a great movie. It makes me laugh just thinking about it. I want to watch it again. They have several Saturday Night Live like skits all containing coffee and cigarettes. Just watch it as it is very good. I particularly liked the skit with the American Italians who were sitting around talking. Every other word was a cuss word. We played it back again and I counted the number of F-words which totaled 23. Kajsa said the American Italians are always portrayed wearing sweats, which cracked me up. She is right they always seem over weight and are indeed wearing sweats. I always think of wearing sweats for a workout not to smoke, drink coffee and say the F-word. Anyway it is a great movie. I enjoyed the evening spent with Kajas. She
Tall ShipTall ShipTall Ship

The Tall Ships were in town for a Regatta when I was there. Look at all the lines. It looks to me like you better know what you are doing if you are going to sail this boat.
is a very intelligent person and fun to hang out with. About 11:00 we decided to call it a night. I was exhausted and I think she was tired as well.


7-28-07
I slept pretty well. It is amazing how you appreciate sleeping in non hostel accommodations. I had done very little sightseeing and had been in Stockholm for more than a day now. Stockholm is a very cool city with lots of water and some old buildings. They have a very cool shopping area if you’re into shopping. Stockholm is a nice place to visit. They have a series of islands just east of the mainland called the Archipelago Islands that are quite incredible. There is supposed to be 24,000 of these islands. Boat tours can be taken out to them and will cost you around $40. I was going to take a cruise ship from Stockholm to Helsinki and would be seeing the islands at that time so I did not take the tour.

I had another couchsurfing contact in Stockholm that was an Italian and who expressed interest in meeting. I borrowed Kajsa's phone and called Alessandra. She at first did not remember me,
Pirate AttackPirate AttackPirate Attack

This tall ship was under attack by pirates when I passed by it. Arrrr!
but then I said I am the American and then it all came back to her. She was out shopping and invited me to the party she was having that night, and/or she suggested we meet for lunch the following day. I felt a little bad about leaving Kajsa who I was staying with to go to a party, but I was not sure what else to do. I did not feel like I could invite her along to another person's party. I asked Alessandra to send me directions to the party and where to meet the following day and she said she would do that. I used the internet for a couple hours and received the email from Alessandra. She said to come around 6 or a little later.

I headed out the door a little before noon. I decided to head for the Vasa Museum. I took the metro to a stop that still required a lot of walking to get out to the Vasa Museum, which is on an island. I wanted to walk to see more of the waterfront as their is a lot of waterfront. I walked past the Grand Hotel where there are
Jay's Boat in StockholmJay's Boat in StockholmJay's Boat in Stockholm

The boat on the right is Jay's boat. Jay why do they call them Tall Ships?
the boat tours. I then walked out to the island, which is about a total of 30 minutes of walking.

The Vasa museum is kind of a joke in a sense. It is about a boat that sunk. The king of Sweden wanted a big fancy boat that would visually intimidate and have the gun power to destroy the enemy. So he enlisted some Dutch builders to build the boat and they did per the plans. On the boats maiden voyage however, the ship was staffed by very few sailors, as the main crew would be picked up in another area. As they left the harbor the boat fired some shots to impress the crowd. The wind then picked up and the boat began to heal. The folks that had fired the cannons left the cannon doors open. The boat heeled even more and the boat began to take on water. The incoming water made the situation even worse and the mighty ship was tossed and if not for the courage……….The ship could not recover and went to Davey Jones's Locker. If you do not know what that is, it is the bottom of the sea. The voyage had
Cat DeterrentCat DeterrentCat Deterrent

How to keep cats from climbing the lines and getting onto the boat.
lasted 20 minutes. When the tour guide was telling the story and she had gotten halfway through it I thought to myself I knew where this story was going as I had did the very same thing on the Midnight Sun (my boat). Except my boat had enough ballast such that the keel righted the boat after I had put her on her side with the mast only inches from the water. The Vasa however did not have enough ballast and had too many cannons up high on the boat. Had the Vasa had it's cannons lower on the boat, all it's staff on the boat and more ballast, they could have possibly righted the boat. Since this was not the case and it may not have been enough to right the boat even if they had. The world will never know. It is amazing however that these awesome catastrophic events leads to such great stories and great tourism. When I first heard about this boat I was thinking all this seemed a little silly, but after understanding the physics of the matter and my familiarity with the physics, I was instantly intrigued by it. The boat was brought up
Big Gulp CityBig Gulp CityBig Gulp City

There is a 7-11 on every corner in Stockholm. You do not see 7-11's, at least of this frequency, in other European Citys.
from the bottom of the Baltic Sea 300 years later and because the water in this region is not as salty as some ocean waters, the critters that typically degrade wooden boats in more brackish water had not affected this boat much. They salvaged and reconstructed this boat with 95% of it's original materials. The material that is not original is shown on the boat with lighter colors. The ruler of Sweden who decided to bring the boat up was an archaeologist.

So after what I thought was going to be a pretty lame museum it turned out pretty cool. It is very dark in the building however and more light would make it better. I presume the low light conditions is for preservation purposes, but I am not sure. The museum had exhibits about the Swedish navy and what life was like for sailors back then.

From the Vasa museum I walked to the Scanza (sp) open air museum which Rick Steves says is the best open air museum in all of Europe. I did not plan to go in this day, but thought maybe I would tomorrow. To get in however was quite expensive and I
Cool CityCool CityCool City

Lots of old cool buildings in Stockholm as well as lots of water. Stockholm is one of my favorite Citys.
suspected once you were in there, there would be additional fees so I was a little turned off by that. It was getting pretty late in the day so I walked around a little longer and back towards the subway.

I got back to Kajsa's and got ready to go to Alessandra's party as it was already past 7 and the party started at 6. I finally left around 8. I was not sure exactly where her party was at, but got off at the directed metro stop and walked in the direction that Kajsa said to. Kajsa had predicted Alessandra works for the Italian Embassy as the meeting place with her for lunch was in the vicinity of the Italian Embassy. It turned out Kajsa was right. She is a very smart lady. Oh I forgot to say that Kajsa loves India. She told me many amazing stories of Indian life. She says men often burn there wife’s and say they can no longer be there wife because they are burnt. It is a weird culture and the women are treated very badly. Kajsa actually bought a house in India. It would be really interesting to see it,
Lots of Water ToursLots of Water ToursLots of Water Tours

There are several different boat tours you can go on. This is where they leave from.
but I am not sure I have the energy and it does not seem very safe. I do not think I would fit in very well there at all.

I found a party, not sure if it was the right one though. I walked in and there were several people in the middle of the room. As soon as I walked in the music stopped and all eyes were on me. There were about 15 people there. I looked around hoping to find someone that looked like Alessandra and at first I had no luck. I stated my name is Dave and am looking for Alessandra then I realized the lady strumming the guitar and singing was Alessandra. She said hey Dave I am glad you could come or something like that. She showed me the food and drink and I told her to keep playing. So the party continued. If you have never been around Southern Italians you have missed a real treat. These people are so emotional, and boisterous and open. They are an open book. They hide nothing. The saying never let them see you sweat is not applicable to them as they can not hide
Amen to ThatAmen to ThatAmen to That

The common people and the poor are the victims. Yep they sure are. I often go to the following website and read about the dead soldiers and where they are from. www.militarycity.com/valor/honor.html Spend a few minutes reading about a few of these soldiers. It angers me knowing that the reasons Bush gave us for going to war in Iraq on October 7, 2002 were not true. War is a serious matter and you best have your facts right.
any of their emotions. I was surprised the party was in this room and not in Alessandra's apartment.

I talked to a few of the people in the room, several of the people in the room took turns at playing the guitar. Many of them sang. The guitar book that Alessandra had, said 1,001 songs on it. I am not sure if Alessandra knew all of them by heart, but I am sure she was not afraid to try and play any of them in public. I was in heaven watching these people be Italians! It was balecemo, the Italian word for awesome. After a few hours the party was winding down as they all had to work the next day. None of them drank much. I volunteered to help cleanup and I was surprised when Alesssandra gave me things to do. It was like you automatically become family with them. I just felt like I was at home helping mom cleanup after Christmas dinner or something. I carried stuff to Alessandra's apartment as did some other people in the room. Alessandra keeps an immaculate apartment and we cleaned the room where the party was quite thoroughly. The people
Vasa MusuemVasa MusuemVasa Musuem

Ever wonder what a 300 year old ship looks like. Now you know.
there included people from the following towns in Italy: Lake Como, Bologna, Rome, Naples and a person from one of the most southern parts of Italy. The others I am not sure.

The purpose of the party was to wish Alessandra farewell as she is moving to Rome again after having been in Stockholm for about 3 years. She said she probably could move somewhere else, but she wanted to go back to Rome for awhile before going abroad again. Her family lives in Rome as well. I hope I can visit her someday in Rome. As I love hanging with the Italians. They are such nice people. I will be going to eat Italian foo more often in the future and I also want to learn Italian. All the crazy emotion might get old after awhile, but it sure is nice to see people living that way for the time being.

I left Alessandra and told her I would definitely meet her tomorrow or would call her. She had just a little bit left to clean.

I made it back to Kajsa's with a smile on my face. I told her about the crazy Italians all
Vasa ShipVasa ShipVasa Ship

The Vasa was supposed to be Sweden's most spectacular warship. It was beautiful and had lots of cannons. On the maiden voyage with lots of fanfare it sunk after sailing only 20 minutes. 300 years later they raised it from the bottom of the sea and it is on display here.
though I felt a little bad about Kajsa not going along and experiencing it. I should ask Alessandra to meet Kajsa sometime. I think they would both enjoy each other's company. Someone remind me to do that. I hit the hay thinking about those crazy Southern Italy Italians. They are a blast.

7-29-07
Kajsa had gotten up early. She works in the movie industry and actually was making a fake model of a bomb the previous night. I told her I was going to tell the embassy people that she was home making a bomb. This day and age with big brother looking over everything, I guess I should not say anything. Even though we have our problems the US is still a pretty good place to live. We do not have the crazy folks that many countries have. Look at Putin for example, if someone talks bad about Putin the person may be punished or even killed. Putin I think is setting that country back as I think Bush has done in the US. I read a newspaper article where they are getting a multinational force together for Darfur finally after 3 years of craziness. The paper reported
ColorfulColorfulColorful

Back in it's day it was a very colorful ship. This pic shows the colors that were on the ship before it sat at the bottom of the sea for 300 years.
200,000 people have been killed. It said in the report that a lot of countries are sending troops, but Britain is already over extended in Iraq and Afghanistan and it does not even mention the U.S. In the article. You mean they did not ask the U.S. if they could send troops to help out? What a surprise. Thank you commander in chief George Bush. Do you think Saddam Hussein killed 200,000 people in the last 3 years of his life. Oh wait a minute Darfur does not have oil. But Bush brought Saddam to justice and had him executed. Yippee now lets go pray to God. People in the world think George Bush's praying is such a joke, because of his actions. Actually they think Americans in general praying is a joke because of our actions. Here in Vienna they have a sign that says the world's number 1 terrorist under a picture of George Bush. That is a little extreme, but I consider him an extremist.

I got on the metro and headed to the Silja Line Cruise Ship to see about getting a ride to Helsinki. I love the name of that town. I feel like
Ship Cross-SectionShip Cross-SectionShip Cross-Section

This is a cross-section of the ship. Notice the rock ballast in the bottom. Why did she sink? The Vasa did not have enough ballast, too many cannons were located too high on the ship to make it stable and there was not enough crew.
I am really going to the ends of the world by going there, even though it is just another Scandinavian Country. On the way I realized I was almost out of Subway tickets and really did not want to buy anymore as it was like 2.70 euros per journey, which is quite expensive. At the boat I ask the attendant for a ticket for tonight and she says not possible, as there are no tickets. I was like crap this is getting to be a broken record. I ask her about getting on a day boat and she said there are none. I asked her about the next night and she said there is availability on that boat so I told her to put me on that boat then. I ask her if I come a little while before the boat leaves tonight will there be a chance of me getting on. She said usually there are cancellations and I will probably get on, but there are no guarantees. I was thinking now why didn’t she tell me that right away. If I had not asked she would had never told me. I got the ticket for the next night
RainbowRainbowRainbow

Can you see the rainbow?
and told her I would be back by 4:30.

I headed down to the Grand Hotel to check out the prices of the boats to the Archipelago Islands. The more I thought about it the less excited I was to go out there as the cruise ship I would be going out there too. Maybe I would not see the coolest spots, but I would be out there none the less. Then when I learned the cost was going to be 200 crowns or a little less than $40 I said that is a big negatory. I had heard you could get out there for much less money.

I walked around for a bit and then headed to the bus station to take me out to where Alessandra works. I got to where she works about an hour early and saw some tall ships crossing the water near me. I was thinking this is awesome I will get to see the tall ships heading out to the race. I walked around and found a great viewing spot. There were several other people there as well. On one of the ships they were playing classical music loudly and the
Count the BlondesCount the BlondesCount the Blondes

Still in Scandinavia, still have the blondes.
crew members were standing all over the boat on the extensions protruding laterally off the mast. It was quite impressive. When the boat got to one of the main viewing areas a cannon was shot (at least the noise and smoke made it look like that was the case). It was quite cool. This boat was a crowd favorite. I believe it was an Italian boat. Other boats came by as well and they were impressive as well. I was really happy having seen that, as that is something I wanted to do and I felt like I had achieved something this day as well.

I left to meet Alessandra and did not want to be late. I just would feel horrible to maybe miss her somehow and she would feel like I didn't show up. I just find it more hard to let down an Italian especially one from the south. They just seem so genuine and trustworthy. Alessandra showed up a few minutes late and we went through our eating options. We chose a café in a garden near where she works. We both had a soup with bread. It was very good. Alessandra seems a little
Water TaxiWater TaxiWater Taxi

Can not say I have ever hailed a taxi and had something like this show up.
nervous and busy all the time. I have only met her a couple times though so I really do not know her that well. That was another reason not to go on the boat to Archipelago islands as it was more important for me to meet Alessandra. It is really a no brainer. It would be nice to have an Italian friend, as I like the people so much. I am not sure I could be around one all the time, maybe I could. I am a lot less emotional and all there exuberance might wear on me after awhile. Not sure. I like them a lot though, that I know.

Once we got done with lunch we took some pictures. A couple of us together and then she went to work and I went to the bus station and decided to just head out to the boat. Stockholm is a beautiful City and one that I really never felt like I ever knew really where I was at, kind of like Amsterdam in that regard. I do think I am starting to get a little homesick at this point as I think about going home quite of bit
Iraq WinsIraq WinsIraq Wins

Iraq won the Asian Cup in Soccer and this is the pandemonium that ensued. It is nice to see something good happen for that Country.
recently. The buildings and sites just do not hold there luster. For me 3.5 months is about where I started bumping up against a wall. At this point I think is when it would be nice to travel with someone, but up to this point I enjoyed the independence.

When getting to the boat I went to a grocery store to pick up some supplies and then went to the waiting area. I decided to just walk up to the desk around 4 and see about a ticket. The person got me a ticket right then and there. I assume people must have called in canceling or something. Not sure, but I had a ticket and could board right now if I wanted. I waited awhile and watched the Japanese tourist for awhile taking goofy pictures of this big stuffed animal that looked like a rabbit in a glass box. If I had a dollar for every goofy picture I have seen a Japanese tourist taking I would be a millionaire.

I went ahead and walked aboard this cruise ship. This was my first cruise ship and it was quite impressive. At times however I tried to find
Crazy GuysCrazy GuysCrazy Guys

Look at the guys standing on the horizontal members perpendicular to the mast. When these boats came by they would play music from the boat and occasionally shot a cannon. It was quite the spectacle.
the boat. I jokingly asked someone while inside, "So where is the boat?" Right when you walked inside it resembled more a mall than a boat. There were all sorts of restaurants, shopping places, there were Saunas, whirlpools on the upper deck and a lot of stuff for kids. Also down in the bottom of the boat there was a duty free store. You see duty free stores all over Europe. A lot of them are in airports. What is up with that? Isn't that tax evasion. Why does the government let that happen? Especially on their own soil in an airport? I do not get these Duty Free shops?

I went to the cabin and there was one other man there. He seemed ok. There were four beds in this cabin. Man I hoped no one else would show up. We had our own restroom and shower. Very nice. A little later another Indian looking guy showed up. He seemed a little weird to me. I laid down for awhile and a fourth man showed up. He appeared Russian. His English was very bad, but still wanted to talk as if the longer he talked the better I
Cannon ShotCannon ShotCannon Shot

Where there is smoke there is powder being burnt. This shot wiped out about a 1,000 spectators.
would understand the Russian Language. He was a big man, I guess around 30 in age and to be honest I did not trust him much. I do not know how to explain it, but he creeped me out a little. I left my backpack there and walked to the upper deck with my valuables bag, which contains my PDA, camera and keyboard.

I spent a lot of time on the upper deck seeing all the Islands passing by and checking out all the homes on the islands. These Scandinavian countries really are not much different from the US. The rich people have the property and have the houses on the Islands. A lot of them have vacation homes. You get the picture. It was quite chilly and the number on the deck dwindled. These Islands seem to go on forever. We have been traveling for over an hour now and still were amongst the Archipelago islands. The number of houses on the islands however were a lot fewer, the farther out you got and the islands were much smaller as well.

I just had a guy sit by me in this McDonalds in Vienna that I
Italian FriendItalian FriendItalian Friend

This is my Italian friend from Rome who works at the Italian Embassy in Stockholm. The embassy entrance is just behind us. I met her through couchsurfing.
think is gay. For some reason? He keeps talking to me and is creeping me out a little. Surely I do not look of that persuasion. Ok now I am having doubts about my own masculinity. Ok I try to carry on with the story of the cruise.

I grabbed a hot dog and a beer, which of course were quite expensive. I think this cruise ship honors the Eurail passes so they can just get more people on the boat to buy things on the boat. I thought for sure I would run into my roommates on the boat, but I never saw them.

I went down below looking for a place to type. I came across the duty free store again and decided to buy some stuff to snack on while typing. I planned to spend the night typing. I needed to get caught up a little. I walked back up to the main performance area on the boat. I found a booth and typed. To my right was the dance floor area where a billion kids were doing some kind of dance game that was organized by ship staff. There were a lot of things
Chevy TruckChevy TruckChevy Truck

In all my travels in Europe this was the only chevy truck I saw. I saw a couple Fords but not many.
on the ship for kids to do. I guess that gets the parents on the boat. To my right was a portal window with a view of the Baltic Sea. I was thirsty and walked back to my room to get my water bottle.

In the room there was one guy trying to sleep. It was about 10:00. Ok the guy beside me here in Vienna just wiped off the table with his napkin trying to be really neat. I think he is gay. He has not talked to me so I assume my obvious masculinity that has to be so evident, repelled him away. But why did he talk to me at first? Now I am frightened again 😊

I walked back to my table on the boat with water bottle in hand and typed away. After the kids left the stage, there was a band perform, then some dancers came out as I continued to type. The dancers consisted of 2 men and 4 women. They completed there routine around 1:00 and the band came back out. I was tired and decided to call it a night. It had been a long night and I was ready to see what the cabin was going to be like. I was concerned as there were two older men and a younger fat guy. I knew there would be snoring. As soon as I walked in the door it was evident as the snoring had already begun. I was tired though so maybe I could still sleep. The younger fat guy however, that creeped me out a little, was not in the room. Ok I am going to try and sleep. This could be an interesting night. Good night from somewhere on the Baltic Sea.




Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 41


Advertisement

Don't get it?Don't get it?
Don't get it?

If I had a dollar for every picture that was taken by an Asian person in front of this stuffed animal I would have about $200 and I was only there for about 30 minutes.
Open up and Say Ahhh.Open up and Say Ahhh.
Open up and Say Ahhh.

This is where the Cargo entered the boat.
Pretty PlacePretty Place
Pretty Place

There are about 20,000 isalnds off the coast of Sweden called the Archipelago Islands. The Islands close to Stockholm had a lot of houses built on them but the farther away we got the fewer homes you would see on the islands.
Pirate Summer CampPirate Summer Camp
Pirate Summer Camp

They have Pirate Apprentice cards.
Cheap BeerCheap Beer
Cheap Beer

These kids had just purchased about 5 cases of beer. Sometimes I had a hard time remembering I was actually on a boat.
JawsJaws
Jaws

See the shadow the boat cast on this island.
El CapitanEl Capitan
El Capitan

Not only is it the name of a Rock in Yosemite it is also a name of a restaurant on this boat. I wonder if the food taste like rocks? What does a rock taste like?
Boat PicBoat Pic
Boat Pic

The farther out to sea you get the smaller the surrounding islands become.


29th August 2007

Keep up the good work.
Your photos continue to impress.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb