Fighting Jet Lag


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
July 2nd 2007
Published: July 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

We arrived today in Stockholm, Sweden and went straight to our cousin Laura's apartment. The house is beautiful with an amazing view of the city. Suzanne and I decided that caffiene would override jetlag and after chugging coffee headed out into the city with Laura as our guide and the two kids (Will and Claudia) in tow.
The city is beautiful, and it didn't hurt that the weather was gorgeous! We walked for hours, through Old Town, by the water, and all over. Eventually we headed on a water taxi to Rosengaurd, and small cafe that is on acres and acres of land where they grow their own food. Here the kids could run and play and we could eat fresh foods in the shade. Suzanne and I then took advantage of our surroundings and napped in the sun in the "orchard" at Rosengard.
It still hasn't sunk in yet that I am here and will be for a while. I'm sure once I have slept my thoughts will all be in order. Neither Suzanne or I slept on the plane so at this point we have
been awake two days!
Now I know I haven't been here long, so it may be premature to make judgements about Stockholm and Sweds, however I have my first impressions. First off, this city (though a large metropolis) has a very calm feeling. The crowds in the street never seem anxious and I enjoy walking through them. Now this could be due to the fact that they have free health care in Sweden, as well as not having to pay for college - but they do make up for that in the hefty taxes that they pay.
Despite those things I still have a calm and very safe feeling here. It was refreshing to watch my cousin let her little boy run off and play and not worry that something bac was going to happenl. I just feel that the people live in more harmony. Now, this perception may change over the next few days, weeks, or months....
My eyes are now drooping and this really has to be the last sentence for the night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.318s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb