Skärgården


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
August 8th 2005
Published: August 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Linn, Olivia and meLinn, Olivia and meLinn, Olivia and me

In Göran Mårs' summer house
After arriving home late Tuesday night, we got up Wednesday and I headed into Stockholm to do some shopping. I came home and packed for our boat trip and we left early Thursday morning.

The boat is a good size for 4 people... quite comfortable. We drove north in the archipelago, stopping at a small island to visit Ylva's cousin Göran Mårs. He is Arne's son (and incidentally Monika's step-brother)... his daughter Olivia (she's 12) is related to me the same way as Linn. They have a country house on the island (there are 20 houses) that you can only get to by boat. We had fika with them and explored around the island a bit. Göran, his wife Monika and Olivia were very nice...

Our next stop was Ängsö, an island that is a national park due to its unique environment (and bird population). There is an old farm on one end of the island that is still used today... Linn and I went on a long walk around the island when we first arrived. I managed to accrue a few ticks on the way (ewww) but survived... We had a nice dinner on the boat and then
Monika, Olivia and Göran MårsMonika, Olivia and Göran MårsMonika, Olivia and Göran Mårs

At their summer house
played cards all night. Ylva and Tommy beat Linn and I at Kanasta quite soundly.

I think mornings on the boat are one of the best things... Waking up with the sun streaming in your window and then sitting out in the open air for breakfast is amazing. I had no problem sleeping... I found the slight rock of the boat to be quite soothing! We went for 2 swims... both times the water was freezing (18 C), but you felt quite refreshed when you got out. Most of the day was spent lying on a rock or the boat reading in the sun. We did go for a walk on the island to the farm where they serve a marvelous fika (with coffee, cakes and cookies!!).

We left Ängsö around 3:00 or so to head to our next destination... another island with gorgeous scenery. Linn and I explored around and ate a bazillion blueberries. Then we again spent the rest of the day sunbathing on a rock. I am proud to say that I got a tan without burning!! The evening was spent eating and again being beaten soundly by Tommy and Ylva at Kanasta...

The
Boat IBoat IBoat I

At Ängsö.
next day we headed back to Stockholm... it was about a 2 hour boat ride and we got home at 5:00. Lena and Klas came over for dinner...

Sunday, Linn and I did the museum tour... three in one day!! I really liked the fact that all of their museums are free...

Now I'm back at work for two more weeks... I can't believe how the time has flown...




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

FikaFika
Fika

On the island of Ängsö.
The boatThe boat
The boat

As seen from the top of the hill on our second island stop.
Linn swimmingLinn swimming
Linn swimming

Brave girl...


10th August 2005

What is fika???
11th August 2005

Fika is snack or coffee... People have fika at 10:00 and 3:00 usually... It is more of a social thing really...
11th August 2005

I like this fika idea.

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb