Swedish Language Arts


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
July 6th 2005
Published: July 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Sorry about the last entry... I thought I'd posted it last Friday, but it turns out that I didn't.. oops!

The Swedish people here at work like to discuss the differences in our languages... In our conversations, I've come across a few words that seem to be lacking in Canadian english (or at least as far as I can tell)... I've decided to incorporate them into my vocabulary:
1) spinky - they thought this was an english word! It means someone who is super thin.
2) tränningsvark - a single word to express the muscle pain you feel the day after exercising (when you're out of shape) - I told them we didn't have a word for this cuz us Canadians are all in excellent shape. (haha)
3) canon - said like canoon... means excellent or superb (said with lots of excitment)

This past weekend was very busy (as I suspect all my weekends will be!). Friday, Linn and I went on a trip out to Vaxholm - a little old town in the archepelago. This is a major stop for all boats heading north. Everyone seems to have a boat in Stockholm... it's easy to see why.. the
Me, Nils and LinnMe, Nils and LinnMe, Nils and Linn

Nils' confirmation... they all wore these white gowns and the crosses are handmade by the leaders.
scenery is beautiful and there are so many islands to go to.

Saturday was Nils' confirmation... Confirmation is a huge thing over here. I'm told it represents your transition into adulthood. All the 15-16 year olds in the community go away to camp for 2 or 3 weeks. It is religious, but a lot of fun (or so I'm told). The ceremony on Saturday was in a very modern church... about 1 hour long. Then we all went back to Bengt's house for lunch - salmon (cooked), potatoes, bread, cheese, caviar and excellent desserts. Linn and I attended a birthday party on Saturday night. There were about 10 people for dinner... We sat outside in the sunshine. There was a trampoline that I quite enjoyed (see pictures). We walked home as the sun rose, singing 'knowing me, knowing you...' at the top of our lungs...

Sunday we took things easy (we were pretty tired) and spent the day at Skansen (very similar to Upper Canada Village).

Ylva left on Saturday for Leksan which is where her concert is going to be (her choir is giving a recital). Linn, Tommy and I will drive up on Friday night
Nils and BengtNils and BengtNils and Bengt

In the church following the confirmation.
and spend the weekend in Dalarna (the heart of old Swedish country). Linn and I will be staying at Mårsgården, so I'm quite excited!

Today is Linn's birthday, so we woke up to breakfast in bed (I don't know how I managed to get in on that... i suppose sleeping in the same room has its advantages!!).

I suppose that's enough for now (I might add more pictures from Linn's camera later)...



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Me, Brita and LinnMe, Brita and Linn
Me, Brita and Linn

At the lunch following the confirmation - Bengt's house.
Sisterly love...?Sisterly love...?
Sisterly love...?

At the birthday party.
Me on the trampolineMe on the trampoline
Me on the trampoline

So much fun... (at the birthday party).
A view of StockholmA view of Stockholm
A view of Stockholm

Taken from Skansen (which is located on a big hill in the city).
At Skansen... sitting on a large Dala horseAt Skansen... sitting on a large Dala horse
At Skansen... sitting on a large Dala horse

You should see the video of me attempting to get ON the horse... rather funny.


8th July 2005

KOOL!
Hey Katie, it looks like you are having way too much fun!!! Tanya and Robert!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb