The Palace Has Been Found!


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Ekerö
April 12th 2015
Published: April 12th 2015
Edit Blog Post

So I found it... And what sucks is I was in the absolutely correct place when I turned around the day before!

I got up and dressed and set out (by myself because Reggie had some work to finish), this time 100% determined to find Drottningholm Palace, home of the King and Queen of Sweden. I took one of the city bikes as far as I could to a station in Bromma, just outside of central Stockholm, and set out on foot for the rest of the journey. It was an absolute gorgeous day, I had to peel off a layer and finished the walk in just a t shirt and pants. On the way, I passed and a gentleman and his dog, and we chatted for a brief moment. I took Lynn's advice and asked if I was going in the right direction even though I was pretty sure I was right, and he said yes, "are you going to visit the King?" I thought about that for a second and replied, "wait you can do that?!" To which he replied with a chuckle, "no." and we both continued on our way.

Over one bridge and approaching another one, I notice a path off the side of the road and of course took it into the wilderness. I ended up on this rock on the water where I had a snack and snapped a selfie with the palace in the background. I then continued over the bridge and arrived just as the changing of the guard was happening; a pretty cool thing that I don't ever remember seeing before.

I payed my 120 SEK entrance fee and climbed the stairs to the second floor of the mansion, the first I've ever been in. It was pretty damn cool too. I mean ya it was basically just a bunch of rooms with pictures, busts and old chairs that smelt like They'd been there since the thing was build 400 years ago, but it was still cool! I asked one of the security guys walking around if any of the rooms are ever still used and he point out the banquet hall that just had a wedding reception held in it recently. Like any King probably does, he also said that whenever he wants, he can close the palace to the public and have a party in one of
Hidden DoorHidden DoorHidden Door

Apparently that door goes down a secret passage to someone's bedroom... Cool stuff
the billion and five rooms. I even heard that sometimes they come out of their living space when they're home and socialize with the guests that are visiting the palace... How cool would that be; sup King Carl XVI Gustaf, how's life in the crib? Aha.

I walked around the back of the building to the royal garden which was worth the 120 SEK itself... Probably absolutely stunning in the summer, but still super impressive nonetheless. Whoever says symmetry sucks would hate it there!

I also decided after I saw a newly married couple walking through the estate that I myself will be getting married there in the future, just so y'all know; start saving now 😉

I bought a pin to wear with my suit whenever the next time that will be, and a notebook for my sister from the Drottningholm Theatre Museum, and headed back towards the city centre.

I made some lunch when I got back and took a nap, before going out and strolling along Drottninggatan along with 95% of Stockholm's population and wandering in and out of the stores. It was strangely relaxing and cool to check out the new fashions
LibraryLibraryLibrary

There's a lot of old books in there... I mean a lot.
that will be slowly followed eventually back in North America.

I came back to the hostel and got cleaning up for dinner at Flippin' Burgers, apparently, and proven shortly to be the best restaurant on a budget in the city.

I got there to a keg-like atmosphere, an hour wait and a lounge area packed full, but I wasn't gonna be one of those people that go pffft, turn around and walk out... Cause I hate those people!

I ordered a Ben and Jerry's cookie dough milkshake (which later I learned I should've added a Jack Daniels shot too, remember that one) and stood by the bar waiting for my table of 1. These three guys came in shortly after and I, taking after Shawn again, this is really working, thanks man, and casually asked if it's always this busy, the response being yup, always from when they open at 4! They grabbed their beers and headed further into the bar side.

Shortly after (and under my quoted time for my Keggers reading ?) I was seated at a bench and order my specialty flippin' burger and STHLM Brewing Co. beer. Then the three guys are seated next to me...

Long story short, we become friends really quickly and chat throughout our meals, ending with me being invited back to their place to hangout (yay my first invitation !!).

We walk back to their place (well Johan's place... He actually had just moved into a new apartment a couple weeks earlier, really nice!) and sat down to some music. Turns out two of them are DJ's, throw these wicked parties, and frequently release podcasts on Soundcloud! Another example of a positive 'just my luck!'

Just a perfect night, and goes to show how hospitable Swedes really are, or as they put it "anti-Swedish" putting the stereotype of being antisocial to rest.

I grabbed all of their contact info and walked back to the hostel to catch some zzz before heading to Uppsala the next morning.

Good, good night Stockholm!

-NB




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



13th April 2015
Palace with statue

Great Photos
Hey you... Stopped at Tims for a tea on my way to Toronto....thought I'd use the wifi to see if you had listed an update. Nice break in my own travels, haha, to stop and read your blog. What a palace...reminds me of the tour we took in England of one of the royal palaces, Judy, Maureen and I. Great shits, can't wait to see all your pix...great eye for photography. Well I'll head back out and pretend I am going somewhere as exciting as you! Have a great day tomorrow, love mom

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb