The Little Truck Driver That Could


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Skåne County
January 12th 2003
Published: May 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The night ferry between Rostock, Germany, and Trelleborg, Sweden is by no possible means designed to carry regular passengers. A crappy cafeteria, a small shop, a reception that does not strike me as being the most informative ever, and two very small couches outside the shop. Since I have no cabin, I have to settle for the couches.

The only other passenger stupid enough not to take a cabin is the young Swedish girl. She has no intention of letting me get any sleep this night. And her means of keeping me awake is by providing tons of information. Some of it slightly interesting, but mostly of nonsense character. To the "slightly interesting" category qualifies the fact that she's been on the road in Europe with her boyfriend who's a truck driver. She had to leave the continent on very short notice for a funeral in Sweden. But she's eager to get back on the road, it seems. A 19-year old Swedish truck chick...Imagine that...

To the "not-so-interesting" part goes the fact that she lives on top of her boyfriend's mother's little store in the middle of nowhere in Småland, Sweden. She invites me there. I'm thinking that even if her boyfriend would be cool with this, there are thousands of other places I would rather go visit. In any event, if you happen to see a young girl steering a Swedish truck out there on the Euro-roads, hunk your horn. I'm absolutely confident that she will reply...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 21; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb