2nd Last Episode of Last Day in...: Malmö!


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Skåne County » Malmö
April 21st 2015
Published: April 21st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Graffiti Graffiti Graffiti

Cool graffiti in the courtyard of the hostel
I had a semi set wakeup time on Monday morning, as I had to make sure I got to the MFF shop right as it opened to insure my ticket for that evening's game.

I made my breakfast, got dressed and boogied down to the Stadion wear I got a seat in the last section available, ahhh! Promises to be a good game with that sort of attendance. I also, don't ask how much it was, bought a jersey, because if you know anything about European soccer, you can't go to a game and not be supporting a team, and more importantly, you really want to be supporting the home team.

So I got the ticket and the jersey, and then that was pretty much all I had planned for the day other than the actual game itself. But I strolled through Pildammspark (there dad, that's what it's called!) and just enjoyed yet another gorgeous day in the city.

I took a nap, had fika at a coffee shop on the main walking path called Hollandia, and then organized my backpack and did some laundry. You can tell I was just anxious to get to the game and didn't want to get invested in anything too deeply for fear that I would end up late!

So this one's gonna be short, but they are getting progressively shorter as the trip winds down. I'm getting tired, and not feeling as adventurous as I was at the beginning, but don't get me wrong, I'm still enjoying every moment; I just don't think you wanna here about me sitting in a patio chair looking at the sun with my eyes closed for 20min. Not very exciting if you ask me!

As the game grew nearer, I made my dinner, spaghetti, woooo... It actually never gets old, especially when I use fresh ingredients to make my own sauce, and when the brand of pasta that I find for free at the hostel is a different one each time 😉 Accompanied by a tradition Italian insalata, minus the vinegar (I couldn't find any bottles smaller than 500mL) and some Dr.Pepper that was on sale, it was a good pregame meal.

I there on my jersey, and set out towards the stadium, joining the crowds along the way.

There was a strong police presence but I was assured that this is always the case when there is a game. At an intersection not far from the field, a police car pulls a u-y and pulls up on to the curb in front of the group I was walking behind... Coincidentally, all Hammarby fans. There is an exchange, in Swedish of course, and I'm really really confused as to what's going on. I'm not sure if I'm allowed to cross or what, but eventually the Hammarby fans turn and start walking in the opposite direction. I cautiously follow some other Malmö fans and everything seems to be alright!

I get to the field ( this is like super exciting for me just so you know!! ), find my gate and hand over my ticket... We're almost in! I walk up the stairs and into the stands, and there it is! People are slowly making their way to their seats and warm ups are just beginning.

I quickly find out, not like I really had a choice, that I'm sitting at the wrong end of the field. I'm on the upper deck which isn't even really that far away, 7th row seat 385, but right below me is the Hammarby cheering section, directly across from the official MFF section.

Even now, a day later, I can still hear their chants in my head... Annoying as heck but I guess that means they did their job right?

Before the match even starts, there is an intense back and forth chanting battle, and then comes time for the MFF anthem, but do you think the Hammarby fans would stop for that? Absolutely not.

The game starts and about 20 minutes in, Malmö strikes first with a beautiful through ball finished in the bottom right corner just inside the 18. The crowd goes absolutely nuts and I find myself without even thinking on my feet jumping, clapping and cheering along with the other 19,894 fans.

The game progresses, Hammarby ties it up and then we go into halftime. I grab a Pepsi and a box of popcorn and return to my seat excited for a tight and surely entertaining second half.

Malmö goes up 2-1, and shortly after, flares go off just below me in the stands and an incredible orange glow fills my sight line completely. The game is halted and delayed until the smoke clears. It's weird, but I don't think the police really did anything about it, but they were interestingly standing on the sidelines with video cameras pointed towards the away team's section. Something I don't know, I'm sure.

Anyways the game continues on, the atmosphere is just insane, never a dull moment, never a moment without a cheer, and in the final minutes of extra time, Malmö puts it to bed with another beautiful finish and the crowd rightly so applauded their team.

The walk back to the hostel was filled with smiles and singing and an overall good feeling that I have checked off an item on my bucket list (though I would still definitely like to see Man U at home or Barcelona at home against Real Madrid !).

I crawled into bed unable to sleep from the buzz, but drift off eventually knowing that tomorrow (today) I'll be moving on to yet another new country.

- NB




Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb