Same Title, New Day


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Skåne County » Malmö
April 20th 2015
Published: April 20th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I slept in again yesterday... As a result of the aforementioned snorefest that was going on in my room.

But I got up, had breakfast on the patio because it was another gorgeous day, and then got ready to head out and explore Day 2 of Malmö.

With a few things on my list to check out, I first headed to the Malmö Konsthall, a pretty big exhibition hall for contemporary art. It was free, yay, so I wondered inside, a little reluctant because I was going inside and it was such a beautiful day, but I did.

And it was, well, contemporary art to say the least. I've never really had an appreciation for random stuff thrown together and sold for millions of dollars to posh buyers, but I gained a little more respect for the art form today in the Konsthall. There was a large exhibition set up featuring pieces from two artists, both of Italian heritage and raised in Brazil. It was interesting to view their take on society through their artwork, and I actually found that I enjoyed looking at light bulbs spread out meticulously on a platform, aha.

It was cool, I will admit, and super helpful that all the descriptions were in English also, or else it really would've been abstract for me!

I wandered back out into the beautiful day, and towards another major park just southwest of my hostel. Again, it was full of well spirited Malmites enjoying the sun and above zero temperatures, much like myself, in a gorgeous setting of trees, ponds and happiness.

The path I was following popped out near the Malmö Stadion, an artificial turf soccer field that is home to amateur teams in the city. Just behind that, not even 100m away, sits the Swedbank Stadion, home of Malmö FF (soccer club) where I will be headed tonight actually, to catch a home game!

Wandering back towards the general direction of the city centre, where I was eventually headed for lunch, I ventured into the Triangeln shipping centre to check it out. Basically just another massive mall with a bunch of stores that I can't afford to shop in... But fun to look at at least 😉

Feeling hungry then, I headed towards a notorious Falafel and Kebab place on the edge of the Kings park where a couple of guys told me was the best lunch in town. I would have to agree, I always love a good kebab wrap!

Shaping up to be another near perfect afternoon, simply because of the atmosphere of the city and my relaxed schedule, I sat down under a tree by a pond to eat my kebaby goodness and then headed back to the hostel for none other than a nap... How European of me !

When I woke, I walked across the street 20 seconds and into the Glassfabriken (ice cream shop) and got some Swedish made ice cream to top of my lunch; limoncello and dolce latté for those of you wondering what flavours.

I walked and licked, and headed in the direction of my last stop for the day, St. Peter's Cathedral (St. Peter's got a lot of churches named after him!). I walked in, the only one but the shopkeeper, and made my way around the outside silently, taking pictures (no flash obviously), and suddenly out of no where, this brilliant organ playing fills the cathedral. So I thought I was alone, but it turns out the organist is practicing for a concert on Wednesday
Malmö StadionMalmö StadionMalmö Stadion

Pictures from Swedbank Place will come tomorrow!
evening... Really too bad I'm not still going to be around, because it was some of the most beautiful music I've ever heard!

I bought a post card as a memory and headed back to the hostel for dinner.

Or so I thought.

I was sitting outside the kitchen, chatting with some friends, and just as I was getting up to leave, a man comes around the corner and introduces himself right away. Peter, is his name, from Copenhagen. Naturally, I ask if there are any places he would suggest to visit while I'm there, even outside of the capital in other cities, and he gives me a list of things to see... So helpful again!

One things leads to another, and we end up going out for dinner at a steakhouse on the edge of Lille Torg. Chatting away about many things, but mostly my future ambitions regarding my education, he insists on paying as the company was well worth it, he says. We walk back to the hostel, talking some more and eventually return, exchange emails and head our separate ways to sleep.

To say the least, and to not go into very
ChurxhChurxhChurxh

A random church near the entrance of Triangeln
much detail, he was a very interesting man, but I'm glad to have spent the evening in his company.

I head to sleep for a couple hours and then wake up again to watch another Team Canada game, and then back to sleep.

All in all, another fascinating day, with lots of unexpected twists! But what's new, right.

See you all soon,

- NB


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

InsideInside
Inside

I found it interesting that this was the first church that most of the walls and ceiling were just a plain white colour, not much decoration.
OrganOrgan
Organ

Unfortunately I was informed that it is broken but the music was still beautiful wherever it was coming from!


Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb