Gammalstad


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Norrbotten County » Gammelstad
April 23rd 2006
Published: April 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

ChurchChurchChurch

This is the oldest church in Norbotten.
Pictures will come later, I promise. Anyway, this morning, I woke up at 1 in the afternoon. I shuffled into the kitchen for breakfast, only to meet Johan and Ingvar eating breakfast. So, they watched some TV, while I opened the refrigerator to find that my milk was GONE! I may not have mentioned it before, but we've had food, plates, glasses, and silverware go missing. So I was like, "I know I had some milk." Johan says, "Read the note." And there, on the door, is a note from Hector.

I know that some of my Spanish mates took some food from this fridge. So if you realize that something is left, please make a list, and I will give it back to you as soon as possible. Sorry, Hector



And so, I'm going to have to tell him I had no milk. Luckily, Johan took pity on me and gave me some of his milk, or I would not have had breakfast (cereal). Well then, I went to my room, took a shower, got dressed, and got Johan. We jumped in the car and he took me to Gammalstad. It was the neatest place. He says there are houses like that where he lives. Anyway, it's an old church village. There's an old church there, which was built in the 1600s, as were most of the houses. The houses are all traditional Swedish red (falured). They're
FenceFenceFence

One of the old wooden fences.
very small too. So my tour guide-Johan-says that the people would come in for church, stay in the houses, then leave. That's why they're so small. We saw some restaurants and things. And we walked through town. There was a lady riding a horse. There were also other tourists since the weather was nice. We saw an old log cabin shed that looked like something from Great Smoky Mountain National Park. So my theory is: The Vikings taught the Scots and Irish they invaded and interbred with about construction, then they brought it to the mountains. So there you go. Then we went in search of water, but didn't find any. Shucks. So we came home. But it was nice and there were some newer homes that were bigger and people were there, playing. They have a school there too. The houses are right on top of each other, and look like little sheds or barns. There are no yards. They did have a sculpture some man made. And the oldest living structure was by it-the wall of a grey house that houses two families.

So I enjoyed it, even if we didn't find the water. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

FaluredFalured
Falured

The homes in Gammalstad are mostly the traditional Swedish red and very small.
HomesHomes
Homes

Part of the village, set in the woods. It's on the outside part.
Street SignStreet Sign
Street Sign

It means old road to Boden. Convenient hmm?


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb