Happy Easter


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Norrbotten County » Luleå
April 16th 2006
Published: April 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yes, it's Easter Sunday. And let me tell you, it was an interesting Easter for me. Probably the first one that I didn't go to church. I thought about attending the services here, but I would not have understood a word. Anyhow, so yesterday Mia came and got me and we went to her house. It's the cutest. It's a duplex. You walk in the door and there's an entryway. There's the laundry room and the bathroom on the left. On the right is the kitchen. So you keep walking and the left is the dining room, on the right is the living room. Then, there are stairs. You go down them to reach the three bedrooms, computer room, and bathroom. They also have a shared closet. There was a lot of artwork on the walls, and things weren't very color coordinated like at home. Like in most Swedish homes, there was a lot of wood. So, we boiled some eggs and salted them. And we ate them in honor of easter, with hot chocolate.

We also watched Sex And The City Season 2 since she got it on DVD. A lot of laughter ensued and we found some recipes in a magazine that looked appetizing, so let's see if we cook those. I'm going to do some french toast tomorrow so I can make sure the measurements are right and I can do it before Johan gets home so I can do it again and borrow his cinnamon. So then today, Lukas woke me up. His parents and little brother, Nicky, are visiting. They're going home tomorrow. So, we all had easter lunch. This meant me, Stewart, Victoria, Yan, Kwak, Jun, Robert, Emilee, Lukas, Lukas' Dad, Lukas' Mom, Nicky, three Austrians I don't know, and Jeremy the Canadian. Yes, it was interesting. Harald came in at one point and was surprised to see so many people. So we had Paskmust (Swedes drink must for easter and christmas-it tastes like nasty Dr. Pepper), Coke, beer, Schnapps, and orange juice to drink. I kept to the orange juice myself. So the appetizer was herring, cheese, a bell pepper, and mustard sauce on a cracker. Then came schnitzell (breaded chicken), spicy rice, and salad with vinegar (they don't do salad dressing here). Then, there was Korean soup that consisted of liquid, white stuff, seaweed, and beef. Finally, we had cookies and ice cream. Oh and Victoria made a cake that reminded me of flan. Basically it was cream with a crust. There was also some sort of Austrian bread that I loved. All in all, it was a great easter meal. And Lukas also boiled and colored some eggs for me. I have a blue one waiting for me to eat it. 😊

Everyone else went home. Ingemar moved out. Johan, Robin, and Ingvar went home. Harald is here, but I never see him. Hector has been spending time with his Swedish girl. Lukas has his family visiting. Kriss was here, but he's been going out all the time so I don't see him. So that leaves me. I did get some stuff done, though. And I'll be able to mail my letters tomorrow. Oh, I also got a haircut. It's short again. We'll see if Mom likes it when I get home eh? The boys didn't recognize me. It was funny.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb