Iberia!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
September 26th 2016
Published: June 13th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 40.4167, -3.70327

Iberia!

Monday, September 26, 2016

DAY ONE

Patrick and I headed to Madrid today, with our ultimate destination being Lisbon. We were meeting up with trip buddies Barcy Fox, formerly of St. Louis and many other places, including Memphis and Boston, and currently of Santa Fe. Anne Leverone, our other companion, is formerly of Cincinnati and St. Louis, currently of Douglas, MI and St. Paul, MN (believe it or not, she actually winters in St. Paul but I don't need to go there). I just have this to say: we have been friends since college and I've never visited her Minnesota home. Why visit her for the Winter Ice Festival when she has a lovely home right near Saugatuck on Lake Michigan?

The four of us travel well together ... Alaska ... Africa ... South American, to say nothing of Florida, Michigan, New Mexico and Missouri. We are compatible. And we have a grand time together. Patrick and his harem.

Patrick and I have never traveled to any part of Iberia. Both Barcy and Anne have been to Spain, and Barcy to Portugal, but not to many of the spots on our southern itinerary. We are all looking forward to our reunion and
Madrid airport tram, 9 amMadrid airport tram, 9 amMadrid airport tram, 9 am

To quote my sister, this is a "Yawn" photo, which is exactly what I was doing when I took it.
our adventure.

Both of our ladies had things that threw a kink in our plans this year. Anne's oral surgery took priority in the timing of our travels. Barcy's bout with illness caused us to cancel our pre trip excursion to Marrakech; we agreed it was probably best for her to travel under the Tauck umbrella and not strike out on our own to exotic lands. Hope to get there some day. Just not this time.

I entertained myself on the DAL-MAD segment with "You Before Me" ... cute, classic chick flick with a terribly sad ending. Perfect for me and PJA didn't have to suffer through it. The meal was pitiful and the Ambien knocked me out for the most of the transatlantic flight. It was sunny and cloudless as we landed in Madrid but there was an LA sort of haze above the city. Temperature was 64F. DAY TWO was already under way.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



6th October 2016

Dear Tommye: Am enjoying this, same trip that I took in 2013. Am forwarding your blog to Joanie Heumann, whom I met on that trip. All the best to you, Patrick, Barcy and Anne.Merilyn

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb