In big busy beautiful Burgos


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
October 9th 2010
Published: October 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,
Well when i last wrote we were in a small town St. Domingo,was a treat from the point of view of the hostel and the people. Friends of Helens are holidaying in Spain and they meet up with us as did many of the other pilgrims who plod along the way. We are now like a large and somewhat intimate group in that we often dine together, share sleeping fascilaties and blister treatments, this group has all the characteristics of a family. There are those that lead and those that follow those who play hooky and take the bus. The Cyclists are a group to themsleves they are somewhat like a annoying hornet as they fly bye at the end of the day when there is still distance to cover and your feet hurt. They fly bye with a cherry Bien Camino.
i am getting much more proficient at pretending i know how to speak Spanish. It is important to work and being understood because I nearly ordered 10 cups of coffee. Each evening we eat a pilgrims meal which is a set menu that takes some translation but at times produces some not too bad nosh. We can eat at about 7pm and with a glass of wine or two and we are off to the land of zzzzzz with any luck. I have learnt to wash my clothes as I shower to dry clothes in the most interesting spots and I can find a convienant bush just about any time.
Helen and I both had colds, I am slowly getting over mine but Helen went down really hard so she had to take a day to recuperate, she went ahead and I went on alone. It was a great walk through forests and high country. Not a bad day all together finished it off with a passionate discussion on the Pope. I stayed out of it. Today we meet up in Burgos - that has a whoa type catheral. We had made arrangements to meet at 6pm I came in about 1.00pm cold and wet so wandered around wondering what to do saw a shell and just put my head through the door found a lovely hostel right in the middle of town. Had a cup of coffee warmed up and went to explore then what do I hear but "Lockington" and there she was. So great meal and a little look through the absolutely amazing cathederal St Maria ....... just about fell over looking up at the ceilings. This little town is also the home of El Cid the famous mercanary soldier -who I remember from the movies.

I so appreciate all the emails and comments, it is good to feel connected. Many of the others on the Camino have a phone so I do get a little envious but ah that is life and I have been told the Camino is supposed to teach me something.
Love to you all, Anne

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb