Espana


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
September 7th 2008
Published: October 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I got minimal sleep on the flight to Madrid due to the time zone differences between Spain and Brazil. So I was a little out of it once we landed and said my farewells to others whom all had connecting flights to London/Home to finish up their trips. I myself was only just embarking on the European leg of my tour. I jumped on the metro into the city and it seemed all quite easy until I struck problems when my stop had been shut down for construction works, so I had to jump onto a few other lines and made my way to the hostel with out further difficulty.

The hostel was awesome on first impression and only got better. As the hostel hade only been open for just over 2 weeks every thing was still brand new. The only down side was that I was not able to check into my room until 3pm and I had arrived there around 12. So I chilled out in the common room and to my delight as per usual there where some aussie staying in the hostel and most of whom were in the TV room when I arrived. Merco and Lucy a couple from Melbourne where only a few months off returning to Oz after 5 years of doing the London/European thing. Also a group of 4 guys and 1 girl from Melbourne (Oscar, Chris, James, Johnny & his girl friend). Later that afternoon I meet another aussie by the name of Scott who was in Madrid on business for the Finnish company he worked for, but he also had become friends with Cameron Shepherd, Mark Wise and Troy Townsend when he was living in Scotland. After every one had traded their travel tales and me finally being able to check into my room and freshening up, I was able to head up to the supermarket to gets some food and beers. As it was the opening ceremony of the Olympics we all sat down in front of the brand new plasma TV to see what ridiculous uniforms would be worn by the respective nations. With 12 aussies in the room and plenty of cheap beers to be drunk it got a little rowdy in the common room, but the winner for the evening was that Lucy cooked up a Roast Chicken with all the sides for a miserly price of $2 Euro’s. That night most of the gang headed out to a club but I pulled the pin as I was still suffering from jet lag and needed a good nights rest and yet I still woke up not feeling a million dollars after 12 hours sleep. Saturday was a bit of a fizzer, since I had woken quite late in the day I was unable to get anything productive down apart from wander the streets for a few hours and then head back to the hostel to find that the hostel was being over run by aussies. By sheer coincidence James’ girl friend had rocked up at the same hostel with 4 of her friends, another 3 guys from Frankston had arrived, one of who’s girlfriend lived with a mate of mine, 2 girls from Scared Heart in Geelong who new most the girls below me in Torquay, plus a few more randoms. So the count had risen to 22 or 25 in the end and with that many of us in one place and the Olympics on its hard to contain the evening to a quiet one.

We headed to a club in which we were able to score the 15 euro entry fee for free through the hostel, plus a couple of free drinks were thrown my way also, which was very helpful since the bar was charging 12 euro a beer and well that was never going to be taken. But the boys had figured out the scam the night earlier, you just tell the bouncers you need a pass out to get some cash out and then drink in the park across the road where vendors were selling them for 1 euro a pop. It ended up being a large one and Chris and I managed to make our way home by our faltering memories, during the even lighter morning daylight.
After a few beers to calm the stomach (you’re only 2 beers away from another good day) and Panadol or two for the 2nd migraine in my life (the first the day previous) I was able to get up and head to the park with the others to see the sites and listen to the drums of the local folk. But the drums had not begun before Steve and I headed back to the hostel to meet up with the Frankston boys on our way to the Bull Fighting. To comment on bull fighting not being brutal sport would be to call me soft, it was definitely an experience of a life time and well worth going. It is a lot more full on than you see on TV and Movies. The crowd gets really stuck into it when the matador or the spear throwers are not clean in injuring the animal to bleed or when they finally kill it. Even after seeing 6 bulls murdered I found that I was unable to sleep, but I suggest it was more so due to the irregular hours I had slept the past 3 days. It is not particularly helpful when you have to be up at 4ish to make it to the Airport for your 6 O’clock flight. This flight was so early, the Metro would not be up and running, which would cost me a further $33 euro (nearly 60 bucks) to get to the airport. It was whilst I was trying to sleep that the idea of catching the last metro to the airport would have cost me a lot less and I would only have to forfeit the 20 some euro nights accommodation. Lesson learnt.

I got into Barcelona at 7.30am, so I jumped on the $3 euro bus into town, which I was only 10mins walking distance from my hostel. I was also thankfully able to check into my room at 9.30 for some much needed sleep. After my massive power nap, I spent the afternoon walking the streets of La Rumbla?? I don’t know if it was the heat (34 degrees) or the fact that its still day light at 9pm, but I was not able to once again get to sleep until 3am. Day 2 of Barcelona was the day to see all the sites via the tourist bus. I had been given a detailed to do list from Kirsten, which I attempted to stick to a see as much as I could. It was a pleasant 30 plus degrees and most of the bus lines and major sites were packed. I had to come back the following day to get inside a few of these attractions. The construction works that has gone into all of Guadi’s buildings are quite amazing. I was also able to see the Barcelona Soccer Stadium, a number of the 1992 Olympic Stadiums and a number of others that I can not recall, but all of Guadi’s works where quite easily the most breath taking.
Once again that evening it was a battle to sleep due to heat and day light, but there was still no atmosphere in the place as it had only one couple of non French speaking people in the place and they were German, so it was a battle to kill the time apart from on the internet. It was at times like this that travelling solo is quite unenjoyable, unlike 2 days previous in Madrid where it was hard to keep to yourself. Since I had seen the exterior of most of the major buildings on the Tuesday I spent the following day visiting the interior of the Sedgrid Familia Church, Guadia’s major work of art which has been under construction for the past hundred years and has quite some time left to be completed. The inside of the cathedral is just as amazing as the exterior, but as a majority of the building is still covered in scaffolding you do not get to understand the overall beauty of the building and I hope to one day, if its complete in my life time visit again.
From there I jumped on the subway to visit another place on the to do list, The Picasso Museum, I was quite impressed with a number of his works over an extended period of time that he had been alive, but I felt that a few periods of his works where not that exceptional. Now I’m an art critic too! For the remainder of the afternoon I wandered around the waterfront and the remainder of La Rambles and its surrounding shops.
I got a bit of a sleep in on the Thursday morning but still had to check out by 10am, I was headed for Calafell, which is just over an hour south of Barcelona on the train, I was headed here to meet up with Kirsten’s mother Carole who had kindly offered to have me stay for a few days whilst I was in the area. It was a 15min drive thru the wineries to her house where I was lucky enough to get to taste the local produce for lunch and have some traditional Spanish Tostadas (Sliced Tomato smeared on toast, with palma ham, olive oil and cheese). The house was set in a little village 5mins from Vendrell which is 10mins from Calafell the local beach spot. As it was a small village the streets were very narrow it would make life very difficult if I still owned the charger. The House its self is a 11th century building and the Rowhers have spent the past 30 years doing it up. It was so relaxing to be in a homely environment. I did not have to worry greatly about the hostel environment for a bit and could get some washing done, watch some TV and use the internet with out having to worry about to 20 or 100 others. Plus the home cooked meals that Carole had whipped up were great and a vast improvement from what I had been eating in Spain to date.
Friday was very relaxed; I had a huge sleep in and got some washing done along with trying to update my blog. I was also able to go down to the Police station with Carole and file a belated Police Report for my stolen camera. Saturday Carole went to visit some friends in Ampolla a town 50mins south of Calafell, so I got her to drop me off in Tarragona another place on Kirsten’s to see list. Tarragona is in between Calafell and Ampolla. So I was able to see the sites during the day and then head down that evening to meet up with Carole and her friend Mike who used to work with the Rowhers on a Shrimp farm they used to own.
Sunday I jumped on the train to Salou an English tourist town. It was 30mins north of Ampolla where we had spent the night. I was planning on trying to get some work in Salou through one of Carole friends, but due to the tourist season being down I was unable to do so. I decided to just have a look around town for the day and see what might have been. I also looked for a hostel for a few nights so I could have a better look around, but as it was high season they where charging 50 euro’s a night which is ridiculous in most parts of the world. So it was back to Ampolla where Carole had planned to spend the night. It was about now that I was really starting to feel like a real nuisance. On Monday morning we headed back to …….. and it was a very chilly day; just re-packing my bags after Chris and Joy had sent over some much needed Bonds Singlets and Quicksilver Board shorts. I did attempt to cook up my remotely famous seafood marinara, but once we got to the supermarket all the fresh fish had been cleaned out and there was no point doing it with frozen crap. So it was Ribs and Chops and being the aussie who better to look after the BBQ. Well I don’t know if it’s just me, but when an aussie male requests the assistance of a female to help him with lighting the fire I suggest his man hood may have been lost. To my defense I have never lit a coal fire in my life and it showed.
The following day I planned to catch up with Patrick O’Kane (Part Owner in Cartel where I did bar work at the end of last year) in a town called Sitges. Being a Geelong lad also we caught up over a few beers on what’s news back home and what’s been happening during each others travels. I had missed him in Chicago even though we were there at the same time. We enjoyed a few beers, pizzas, bit of the Olympics and a body surf before I headed back to Calafell for the evening. The next morning I had to catch a train to Valencia around 11ish.

I got into Valencia around 2ish after a 4-hour trip on the train. I checked into the hostel (Red Nest), which was a pretty nice place and was in a good part of town. Once again I ran into a few aussies who were keen to have a wander around town before heading out for some Paella that evening at a place recommended to one of the guys. Before we had a few drinks at a bar just near by, as it was not yet 8pm the restaurant had been yet to open. The food was great. It was huge and had heaps of meat and even a bit of rabbit to top it off. It was a pretty low key night and I was up nice and early and ready to do the free walking tour.
I headed down there and grabbed a bite to eat along the way, but could not see any of the crew from the night before and really could not see anyone who looked like they were going on a walking tour. So after sitting and wandering around a little confused as the where every one actually was, I headed back to the hostel to see the girls sitting up eating their breakfast and in no rush to leave. After a few minutes of confused conversation between us I soon realized that my watch was an hour fast and that we had a further 45 mins till the walking tour eventually left. So after 45mins of chilling we headed down and it was a group of Aussies and an Italian chap. The tour guide was English and his sister was coming to have a look whilst she was in town. It was a quite insightful trip and a good way to find out a bit about how the city developed over the years both culturally and religiously.
Even though the tour is free you just have to throw in a bit of a tip for the guy who takes it and it’s a lot cheaper than doing an official one. After the tour he took us to one of the local eateries where they serve the traditional milky drink called Horchata. It is served with long donut sticks that you dunk into the drink, it is quite refreshing as it is served chilled and after 2 and a bit hours of walking it was much needed. After that myself, Daryl (aussie guy) and a cute French Canadian lass headed down to the beach for a bit of a bake and swim. It was rather sandy due to the wind blowing across the beach, plus the view did not match those I have enjoyed in Brazil the past few weeks, and it does not get close to those I have seen all my life in Oz. That night a few of us did a bit of a cook up in the kitchen and had a few quite beers, but it was quite subdued. On Friday morning I had an early start once again for my trip to Granada.

The bus was alright, not as comfy as the Argie buses I have encountered in the past, but no major complaints, apart from the trucking baby that would cry on and off during the whole trip and the fact that I was stupid enough not to check my ipod battery the night before as it was flat as a tack. I got in at 8pm and was able to find the hostel easy enough, considering signage is not the best at times in Europe. For a small town that Granada is I did not expect to see that many people I knew, little lone 2 girls from Ballarat in my 20-bed hostel. One was Kara Batch, one of the physios from North Ballarat and the other her friend who also knew most of the Ballarat gang I know. Batch and I planned to meet up at La Tomitina, but it was great to see her in Granada and be able to sit down over a few beers and have a chat about life and travel. Saturday was spent wandering the streets of Granada and sussing out how best to get into Al Humbra the following day. That evening there was an inter hostel soccer match, which was great blow out as well as a true reminder off my current physical shape.
On Sunday I was up nice an early at 5.30am to make the trek up the hill with Chris & Trev (2 aussie blokes from the hostel) to see the major attraction of Granada (Al Humbra which is an Islamic Palace). From previous recommendations we were told to be there by 6am to get in for the morning session as tickets sell out fast. We arrived just after quarter past and were 20th or so in line and most of the crowds did not flock until 6.45am. So with the gates opening at 8am we were able to get in there 15mins later due to a very slow cashier situation. We had a look around the gardens until 9am when we had our allocated time slot to see inside the Palace. It was quite amazing inside. To see the detail that had been put into all the cornices, wall carvings and other details were beyond comprehension. There was a different feel to each room and the detail did not really waver the whole way through the building and with the morning sunrise it was quite beautiful on the eye. I was able to get some great shots of the rooms and court yards, well that was until my battery went from glowing green to red within 20mins. I was disappointed that I could not get some better shots of the garden, but I did get some good ones of the Palace.
That evening I went with the boys to another hostel to see a few girls that they meet in Lagos and had seen at Al Humbra, the hostel that they stayed at once again was full of aussies and to top it off there was the St Kilda v Adelaide game on the TV. Well 11 aussies, a pack of playing cards and plenty of beer equates to a big night. Laura and Sarah whom the boys new had a 2.30am train to catch and after they bailed things started to quiet down as we where drinking in their room. To top the night off a stop off to the Kebab King was very much necessary. Monday was a very chilled day as I had a 9pm overnight bus to Valencia in preparation for La Tomitina, so I spent the day catching up on emails and having a look around the streets before making my way to the Bus Station. The trip was not much chop with another kid having a tear, but thankfully the ipod was charged and I had stocked up on water and food.

I got into Valencia just after 6 and could not check into my room until 12, but this was a room that I did not have until I received a texted message on the bus from a friend from Torquay (Kassie Evans’s) that she had double booked a twin, so that meant Doug and I would not have to sleep in the hire car we planned to get that evening for accommodation. So I dropped my bags off at 7 and went and wandered the streets where I had not really ventured to yet, but ended back at the Horchata and Franton’s place for my breakfast. I strolled back to the hostel and checked in where I caught up with Kass and her friend Alicia. We headed down to the Train Station to work out how to get to La Tomitina where I rang into Chris and Trev again, along with Jake Johnson (Torquay lad) and his girlfriend Louise who had just left her wallet on the train. After a bit of lunch it was back to the Pension to get changed and meet Obe, Kate and the gang down at the train station to head out for a few pre drinks and tea, but before they could arrive I ran into Kate Gretski (Oberon girl) who I knew was going to be in town but unsure if we would catch up. When the others rocked up we headed to a café/bar for a few drinks and I arranged to meet up with Oscar, Chris and James (from Madrid hostel) so the 10 or so of us chilled for a bit and caught up before planning our attack for the following day. On my way home I got a call from Doug who had just got in at around 12, so catch up beers where required and it was not an early one, mind you it was not a late one in the end.
So the issue with this is that it was the lack of sleep that both of us were battling from that would suggest why both of us slept through 3 alarms and Kass knocking on the door. So after waking at 8.30 when we were meant to meet the gang at the train station at 7 we were in deep shit, so we raced to the train station via taxi. We missed the metro by minutes to make the connection train to Bunol where the evening was being held. We had a 45min wait on our hands and were expected to arrive at 11am the time the event had begun. So all my planning had been blown out of the water over a lack of sleep and being out maybe too late the night before.
So once the train arrived it was a sprint from the station to the event with stop off at the beer and baguette vendor, for some hydration and nutrients for the day. Once we made it to the entrance to the street we thought it would be quite easy to make it thru the crowd to where the main action would be, being two aussie lads above 6’2” it was not that hard to get through the start of the crowd, but once we were confronted by a pack of shirtless Spanish lads on a mission to rip off everyone and anyone’s (girls included) we struck a bit of trouble. I thankfully lost only the buttons to my shirt, Doug lost his singlet and tee, which we were able to retrieve. It was not long after this that we saw some action with the 2nd truck coming through and the tomatoes started to come our way in waves. After the truck passed we made a dash further into the crowd where we got down there for the dumping of the 3rd truck just near one of the water cannon cages. It was pretty full on in there and I randomly ran into Trev and Chris who tried to put tomatoes down my snorkel before stealing it. After that we where able to get hosed down by the people working in the water cage. Then we were ready for our assault on the 4th truck. To keep your footing a 30,000 strong mosh pit is quite hard, but when you’re standing in tomatoes half way up your shin it is even a little harder. After copping a few hefty blows in the 4th truck I was able to spot Obe and the gang across the road. The major help was the $2 euro fluro green and yellow shoelaces that we bought the day before as part of a team uniform. After the 5th truck came through and the girls started to get pretty squashed we headed to one of the side streets to catch up with Bec, Amelia and Sarah who had dislocated her knee during the event. After getting hosed down we headed back to the main part of town just before the start of the festival where every one was heading. It was here that I ran into Batch as well as Kass and Alicia. There was a really good atmosphere there and it was great chilling in the sun and talking about every ones battle stories. We got a good table that we could base ourselves from and enjoyed the cheap beer and sangria. The girls decided to head to the station so they could get back to their hotel for a shower. Doug, Obe and his brother Rich and I decided to stay and enjoy the times. Well we did and we rocked up to the train station nearly 2 hours after the girls had left and found them sitting there still waiting. So we as good friends pushed in line and chilled for the next train that arrived 20minutes later.
Once we got back into Valencia we all headed home from some much needed showers and an afternoon nap. It was not just a slow start to the evening for me but Doug, Kass and Alicia were feeling the pinch as well. After getting ourselves some more Kebabs and Sangria things started to pick up and it was a pretty random and funny night had by all of us. I did not get to see many people that night as communication was scarce and every one was crashing hard.
Thursday morning was a rough one for all of us and we had to check out at 12. Doug had his flight to London then onto Oz at 1 or 2, the girls had a 2pm train to Barcelona and I was on an overnight bus at 6pm to Portugal. I chilled with the girls until they bailed and then did some time on the net before heading to the bus station where I caught up with Kate, Obe and the gang who were setting off to Guinila. I also ran into Bev one of the girls who I partied with in Granada. My bus trip was alright and I got a bit of sleep. I met an aussie chick whom I had the travelers chat with and killed a bit of time. The trip took just over 13 hours in total I think and I got into Lisbon in Portugal at 6ish.

After a pretty loose time in Portugal catching up with the Juc Boys and meeting Jake Johnson in Lagos it was time to head back into Spain for a few days chilling out in Seville. After a rushed morning getting to my bus I arrived into Seville just after 5 where I chilled by the plunge pool at the hostel before freshening up and had a pretty low key night. The next day I set out to be my site seeing day and well the weather did not live up to this. It was the first time in 2 months that it had rained, but I went for a wander around the street and along the river, but it was not as nice as other parts in Spain I have seen, but there were some interesting architectural designs along the river. That night the hostel had a paella night and it was quite cheap and we celebrated with some birthday drinks with one of the Irish girls whom I meet in the hostel. As I was attempting to behave after a big time in Portugal it was early to bed. The Saturday I had set myself to try to work out some of my travel insurance and figure out my plans for the rest of the trip. I was able to do a bit, but more could have been made of a less productive day. That night I chilled at the hostel till 10pm before jumping on a bus to the airport where I planned to spend the night as I had once again another early flight. I thought this way I may save a bit off cash, which I did, but I was like all the people planning to stay the night at the airport kicked out at 12 till 4.30, so sleep outside the Seville airport didn’t leave a great lasting taste in my mouth for Spain. I was how ever able to get a few hours sleep in Madrid where I had flown to before my connection flight to Athens.

So after over 3 weeks in Spain I saw more than I expected but still have a lot more to do there, like my time in Argentina. If I knew a bit of Spanish it could be quite easily a country I could retreat to or live and work from. The life style is so relaxed and the weather was pretty amazing during my time there. Along with all the people, I would especially have to say thanks to Carole for allowing me to stay as long as I did and looking after me so well. If you do plan to travel Europe you must do Spain and if you do Spain you need to spend at least 4 days in Barcelona, its another major city that I would enjoy living in.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb