the botellon, Alguilas, & bbq burgers


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
June 13th 2007
Published: June 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone, I am writing once again to tell about my week. This last Friday was really fun. I went to an awesome tapas restaurant with some of the people from my program. This place, named Lizarran, was so awesome because you are able to try many different types of tapas. You sit outside, right near the cathedral, and the servers come out every 10min or so with plates of different kinds of tapas. Then when they come to your table you take one if you want it and wait for the next plate to come out with a new dish. Each tapa has a little tooth pick in it and at the end they count your tooth picks and it is one euro per each one. So we all ordered pitchers of san gria and tried a lot of different spanish favorites. Then after dinner (which was about 11pm because some places dont even open for dinner until 8:30) I went back to my apartment and got cleaned up for my big night out with my roommate, Malala (the one from Columbia) and her spanish friends. So we left the house at around 12:30am and before going to the disco (a big one which was a little bit outside of the city) we did this thing called the botellon, which all spanish young people do before going to big parties or big discos. So the botellon is where you go to a park and there are usually a lot of college aged students there and eveybody brings their own drinks and hangs out. So we did that until about 2:30am (the big discos dont open until around then) and we went to our destinations named Doble O Nada. One of the people we were with, Tomas, works there so he knew people and we got stuff for free which was cool and we danced a lot. I learned how to do a Spanish dance with the little claps and Ole! which was really fun. So we had a good time and left around 7am and I went back and was able to sleep for about 1 and half hours before I had to meet my group to go to Alguilas(the city where my director is from). Needless to say I was dead, but I slept on the bus for about and hour. In Alguilas we saw a beautiful castle at the top of a big rocky hill that was historic for changing hands between the christians and moors over and over, thus the architecture and style was a big mix of different concepts. It was breathtaking and from the top tower you could see across the Mediterranean to the coast of North Africa. After the long hike back down from the castle we went to a part of the city where there was some mosaic architecture (usually typical of Barcelona but of which they ahd a fine example). Then it was off to the neach for the rest of the afternoon where I slept like a baby and got a tan, woo hoo! I guess we left Alguilas around 6pm and just came home and relaxed the rest of the evening. Then on Sunday my roommate Susanna(the one from Hungary) and I went to the movies and saw Spider Man 3 which we chjose specifically so I could hopefully understand the story line since eveyone knows the basic story of Spider Man and there is a lot of action and not as much talking. Success was mine and I understood suprisingly well and then we ate bbq burgers and fries at an American restaurant, yay!!!! My food was good, but the bbq sauce was defiantly lack southern flare. I also need to mention the phenomenon of the bells on Sunday. You see here in Spain there are Catholic churches with big bell towers everywhere, and every Sunday they all ring before each mass (and there are a number of masses on sundays) the number of years that Jesus lived, 33. So you have all the different churches ring their bells 33 times more than once a day at all different times, so basically the air is filled with the sound of music (heh heh) all day. While it is pretty after about the 230th ring you pretty much want to kill the bell monk, lol. Well lets see...on Monday afternoon, after classes, I went shopping in the Centro and had a coffee and on Tuesday afternoon I went to Mar Menor, which is a smaller beach closer to Murcia and hung out there with my Susanna until about 8pm (it doesnt get dark here until almost 10pm). So today is Wednesday and I believe I am going to an exchan ge party at a place called Badulake and since it was fun last Wednesday I am counting on it being equally as entertaining today. I will keep you guys updated though, as always! A monton (a whole bunch, in spanish) of hugs and kisses. Love you!

Advertisement



13th June 2007

fun!!
wow! sounds like the adventure of a lifetime. much love from here on the backbone of the turtle across the pond juju!!
13th June 2007

Tapa anyone?
So, you should have told us what different things the tapas were filled with. I was sitting here wondering about vegetarian tapas. I'm just hungry now, so anything sounds good. Also, sounds like you are now officially a night owl. Dancing til dawn. You'll have to get ear plugs for the Sunday bells. I suppose they're not too bad if you're awake... but I can't imagine trying to sleep through all those. Ok, loving your blogs Yessi-Pooh. I want more more more and get your pictures aworkin'.(thought I'd say something country) I love you! x's and o's infinity. YFA
13th June 2007

Oh yeah...
Jerome, your comment about the 'not liking all the worshipping' cracked me up. You go get them!
14th June 2007

Sounds Fun
I love the tapas restaurant story. Have you ever had Chinese dim sum? They do the same with rolling around carts of Chinese food that you pick and choose as needed. I bet that's some good Sangria from Spain! It's quite brave that you blog about staying out until 7:00am with your Mom reading this! <------apple, tree, etc, etc..... :-) Send us your paella recipe....we'll have to try it! wuv, AuntTee

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb