MUST SEEs in Madrid, Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
April 12th 2007
Published: April 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

There is so much to do and see in Madrid- I only have a few weekends left, and I'm having trouble planning which sites to visit while I'm still here! Spain is so rich in history and in culture, and truly is worth a visit. From what I've experienced, here are my recommendations as far as what to see in Madrid:

1. Flamenco Dancing
While Seville is the city most well-known for flamenco, Madrid has AMAZING shows, as well. Last month, I went to a flamenco show at CORRAL DE LA MORERIA in Sol. It was incredible, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is planning to be in the area. Corral brings in the best dancers from all over the country (and in some cases, the world) for a two-hour long show (you can also choose to have dinner ahead of time). None of the other flamenco shows that I saw even came close to comparing to that one, so if you're short on time, I'd head straight there. Also, it fills up fast, so it's best to call ahead of time and make reservations.

2. Palacio Real (Royal Palace)
Palacio Real is also in Sol (close to Corral)- a great idea to make an afternoon/evening out of it. Start out at Palacio Real (it's a beautiful palace that the kings of Spain used to live in, and now is used for government functions), shop in Sol (there are great stores on Calle Mayor), and then head to Corral de la Moreria for dinner and a show. A wonderful way to experience Madrid in a short amount of time and an incredibly fun day.

3. Museo de Jamon (Museum of Ham: Restaurant)
Museo de Jamon represents a commonly consumed food in Madrid- Ham! Great food and very economical- if you're going to be in Sol for Corral de la Mororia or the Palacio Real, there is one on Calle Mayor (very close to both of those places). Great idea for a quick and cultural lunch! : )

Also, of course, be sure to hit the Prado Museum (save about 2 hours for this) and also the Palacio del Pardo, where Spain's old dictator, Francisco Franco lived during his time in power (1939-1975).

Those are my recommendations for now, I'll let you know more as I continue my visits! Again, the first place to hit is Sol with Corral de la Moreria, etc., and after that, just enjoy the rest of the city : )

Hasta Luego! ; )

Advertisement



Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb