Memoir of a Nut!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
March 4th 2007
Published: March 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi All!
So, I’m back to the travel blog after a mere two month break. Not too bad, eh? So it’s the begininning of March and I’m starting to realize just how little time I have left in the Language Auxiliar program here in Cantabria. My last day is on May 31st, which gives me less than three months. I can’t believe how quickly time has gone by. But this realization has led me to yet another. I need to start saving money! My brother, Sean, is coming at the end of May and we have deicded that for the first few weeks of June we are going to rent a car and do a driving tour of Spain. I have named the trip “Danielle and Sean’s Excellent Adventure”. Can you imagine Spain in the summer with the Holden siblings? Ahh…pinxos, sangria, town parties, oh yea and the historical sights and whatnot. I remember as children going to the old Poway movie theater with Sean to see great double features such as “Captain Ron” and some rollerblading movie (Which Sean just brought to my attention is called- Airborne.... The theater was set up with a stage and all and in between the movies we would run up and dance on the stage. And the silliness has not stopped between us. I just wonder if Spain is ready to handle us.
Second big news headline, I’ve decided to stay in Spain to teach English another year. So after my vacations in summer I am enrolling in a English teaching course in Barcelona. After the course I’ll be looking for jobs at private language academies that are thirsty for native speakers. Everything about next year is still in the blueprint phase, but I am excited as ever!
In any case, all this is gonna cost a pretty penny so, I’ve named March “Super Savings Month”. No travelling. No going out. No buying things I don’t need. It’ll be good for the bank, but really boring for me. I’ve spent the weekend alone here in Castro and right now it’s Sunday morning, 9am. I spent last night watching The Princess Bride in Spanish and eating toast for dinner. But I thought what better Sunday morning entertainment than ranting about things to my numbered readers of my thin travel blog! I hope I don’t lose you all after this one! I was going to link this first few paragraphs with an actual travel blog that is going to be interesting, but I think I’ll leave this one as its own entitiy.
Well wish me luck on “Super Savings Month”.
And don´t foget to the read my other blog post. "The Calm Before the Storm"

Advertisement



4th March 2007

Go on!!!
Hey Dannie, I'm writing to encourage your savings month!!! I'm really proud of you, and I'm sure you're going to do great! At the moment I'm trying to translate the "Peterborough Chronicle" into present day English. Sounds interesting, ah? Eulàlia hasn't answered, that bitch. Anyways, he's not worth it. I love you lots.
8th March 2007

You go girl!
Hey Danielle, Keep up the good work. Good things are sure to come if you follow your heart. I miss you as I'm sure many others do too. Take care and good luck!

Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb