Bull Fights in Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
June 14th 2019
Published: June 14th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Individual: Going into the bullfight, I was really nervous. Although I am not a vegetarian, I really love animals and do not enjoy seeing them in pain. I knew that the bullfight ended in the bulls being killed, but I knew that this was an experience that I had to have. When the first bull was killed, I felt light-headed and very uncomfortable. Watching the animal get killed reminded me of something out of a horror movie or an old fashioned means of entertainment. As the fight went on, I felt more at ease and knew when to look away in order to avoid anything too gory. By the end, I was very ready to leave and felt so relieved when we got on the metro. However, I am really glad I went and got to experience the event. Traveling and exploring other cultures is always about pushing yourself out of your comfort zone, and I'm really glad I was able to push past my discomfort for this experience.

Relational: One of the things that I really enjoyed about going to the bullfight was getting to see what felt like true Spanish culture. With all of the Spaniards sitting around
us, and the King of Spain sitting a few rows down, it was truly a surreal experience. I didn't understand a lot of the chants that occurred during the fight, or why everyone clapped at certain points but getting to experience something that is so deeply rooted in Spanish culture was incredible. Since Madrid is also a heavily tourist populated city, it was amazing to get away from all the shopping and tours, and really get a taste of the city. The people of Spain are amazing, and I feel privileged to have experienced some of their culture through this trip.

Social: Although this is a topic that is debated by many, I feel like the issue of animal cruelty is something that should be brought up when talking about a bull fight. Although there are far worse things going on in the world, we have to stand up for all life forms, especially those that cannot stand up for themselves. I understand that bullfighting has been a part of the Spanish culture for a long time, but it is hard to watch it without questioning the ethics behind it. These animals didn't do anything wrong, yet they are forced into an arena to be taunted and stabbed until they are too weak to fight. As our culture smart textbook states, "The corrida ends as the matador kills the bull with his sword" (Culture Smart Spain, 79). The bull is then dragged out of the arena by horses. I know that this is a part of Spanish culture, but it hurts my heart that so many people pay money to see these animals be slaughtered. Although this is a topic that people have very different opinions on, it has given me something to think about as we head back to America.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb