June 10, 2019 - Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
June 10th 2019
Published: June 12th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Tired...

Our first two days in Madrid have been very overwhelming for me. Not only am I tired from traveling for two weeks, but the business of the city drains me quickly. I find myself getting tired and irritable quickly. I am trying to find the best ways for me to recharge so that I can still enjoy the trip and not make everyone else’s trip miserable because of my attitude. My knowledge of CQ Drive tells me I should count the perks and work for something bigger (Livermore, 2009). Thinking about where I am and who I am with inspires me to love those around me and make the best of the trip.



Flirting

Leaving our host family and entering a more tourist area, I find myself not using Spanish as much and not interacting with the locals as much. While this is disappointing, I keep reminding myself to learn as much as I can from the small interactions. For instance, I have not really experienced the flirting of the men here until last night at dinner when the waiter winked at me 3 times throughout the course of dinner. I was not particularly uncomfortable, but it was interesting experiencing this side of the culture here first hand. I do not get this kind of attention back home, so I was not sure how to respond.



Technology

One thing I have noticed is the difference in the use of technology at meals. My family is guilty of being on our phones when we are out to eat, and even our group here does so whenever there is WiFi. Back home, it is normal to see most Americans out to eat on their phones instead of interacting with the people in front of them. However, I noticed that most Spaniards are not on their phones. Culture Smart says that “family is all-important, and family ties are very strong” (Meaney & Viguer, 2016, pg. 48).This importance of family here is evident in the prioritization of family over technology. I wish Americans would fix this issue by valuing the present moments.





Word Count: 350


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.457s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb