May 27, 2019 - Barcelona, Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
May 27th 2019
Published: May 27th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Food Experience

One thing I’ve noticed about Spain is the popularity of fresh fruit. With each meal at the seminary, fruit is provided as an option. Additionally, many of the vendors at the Barcelona market were selling fresh fruit. However, since I am allergic to most fruits, it has been disappointing for me. The fruit looks very appetizing, and I would love to try it. Instead, I have been trying to focus on the amazing food I have been able to experience. I never had paella until the first night here, and I really enjoyed it. I’m excited about the opportunity to try new food to replace my disappointment about fruit.



Communication

In Barcelona, a local man accidentally splashed water on me. He started to talk to me in Catalan, and I assumed it was an apology, so I smiled at him to communicate that I wasn’t mad. He said a word similar to “ducha,” so I assumed he was joking about the experience being like a shower. I laughed, and he proceeded to talk more, but I was unable to understand. I smiled and responded with “no comprendo.” He smiled but gave up and walked away, and I felt bad for not understanding. This interaction increased my CQ Drive to better my ability to communicate with the Spaniards.



Art

Spain seems to have a huge emphasis on art. Barcelona not only has incredible architecture, but also graffiti, which have some similarities. When we visited Park Güell, the guide informed us that the tile work was unique and not repeated, alluding to a fluid artistic system discussed in Culture Smart. Additionally, the style of graffiti evident on most of the streets was the classic graffiti style we see in America, which is also fluid. However, not only is graffiti vandalism, but it is also contrasts the beautiful art we saw at La Sagrada Familia and Park Güell. The artists who defaced buildings could channel their passions to create art that enhances the beauty of the city instead of take away from the unique architecture in Barcelona.



Word Count: 346


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb