a busy viernes


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Valencia
February 3rd 2009
Published: February 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

The city of arts and sciencesThe city of arts and sciencesThe city of arts and sciences

Lizzy and I looking ridiculous after running out of the taxi with our excitement of how cool everything looked haha
Last week flew by and we had a crazy Friday!

For our Spanish Culture class we took a field trip to La Lonja; it's really not that exciting or pretty so I didn't take any pictures of it. But right across the street was "el mercado central." It's this huge building filled with meat, seafood, pastry, fruit, and vegetable shops. Everything is so fresh; maybe too fresh! The seafood was still crawling, eyes remain on the FULL bodies of animals, along with fur and eyelashes! Mom and Dad, I am taking you there when you visit Valencia, it is an experience that cannot be missed. Lizzy and I want to go back the next weekend that we stay in Valencia and buy some fresh fruit for snacks.

Shortly after that class we had to meet at La ciudad de artes y ciencias for an excursion with ISA. The city of arts and sciences is the modern area of Valencia. We watched an IMAX show and went to the aquarium. CAC was gorgeous, I'll probably wait until it's warmer to go back and explore more.

Last night I had to break down and go to The Body Shop to
Birttany y yoBirttany y yoBirttany y yo

pictures don't do the place justice, I'm not even going to try to post them
buy some lotion because I cannot find it in the grocery stores. I just picked out a simple vanilla scent and Elvira freaked out! She absolutely loves it; she was still talking about this morning at breakfast! She is so silly, we love her. When Ricardo called us sisters again yesterday she said, "Ricky! Ellas no son tus hermanas. No son Lucia Isabel." If my Spanish was better I would have said, "he can call us sisters if he wants to, Elvira!" Haha... I hope she doesn't stop him. I find it adorable.

Today for lunch we had something unique to Spain! It was called ensalada rusia (russian salad) but it has nothing to do with Russia. It was delicious... its a chopped salad tossed in Mayo. eggs, vegetables, apple, tuna... probably anything you wanted to put into it. It kind of resembles a chicken salad so I cut open a baguette and made a sandwich out of it.

This past Sunday I had my first paella! Elvira made it for Saturday lunch, I think it was because it was Ricardito's birthday, but Lizzy and I weren't complaining. It was a simple chicken and vegetable paella but I
AquariumAquariumAquarium

some Jellyfish! It was the best picture I took from inside.
love trying all the new foods!

We're going to Barcelona this weekend, so hopefully I'll have something amazing to report back on.

Advertisement



3rd February 2009

It sounds like you are settling right in - and I am so amazed that you are trying all the foods and liking them - here I thought you were more like your dad in the area of not trying different things!!! I continue to pray for your safety - and enjoyment of these months! Andrea
3rd February 2009

ensalad rusia sounds delicioso!! I can't wait to see the CAC!! What coat are you wearing in your pics? Did you do some shopping? Have a great time in Barcelona - can't wait to hear and see all about it! LOVE YOU!!
4th February 2009

Oh thank you so much! I hope to be an educated menu reader by the time my parents get here in May so I can help them order food.
5th February 2009

I absolutely LOVE reading your blogs!! I love how you mix your Spanish into your blogging!! It sounds like you are having a fabulous time. I look forward to your next post!! Love, Sissy Poo

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb