Valencia during Fallas season


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Valencia
March 10th 2019
Published: April 14th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Wondering the city at night with different lights on each streets, eating oranges so juicy that it hits my face as I cut into it, and hearing the 'bombing' or Mascleta every day at 2pm. Yes, memories of my three trips to Valencia. Luckily one of my professional conferences is always held during the Fallas season in March. Yet, I have not been lucky enough to have been able to stay for the final night when all of the incredible statues placed around the various neighborhoods are burned. However, seeing them being constructed in the streets is quite a thrill. Fallas is a celebration to honor St. Joseph, that runs from March 1st to March 19th each year. Each neighborhood erects incredibly detailed and colorful giant statues that are placed at intersections in the streets. Leading away from these intersections are beautiful lights of different patterns on each street.

My last two visits I have stayed at the AC Hotel Colon right in the heart of the old town and it is great for walking the city. My favorite activities in the city are running in Turia Park that wraps for 7k around the heart of the city. The park used to be a waterway but is now a hub a recreational activity that leads down to the scenic City of Arts and Science. Turia even has a path dedicated for runners with a mix of soft-surface and all-weather track to navigate. It is a must to visit the super modern City of Arts and Science that provides some very nice photo opportunities. Eating oranges is my favorite pastime while in Valencia. And the place to get your oranges is the Mercado Central. The market is great for its architecture and all of the great fruits, vegetables, seafood, cheese, and meats that you can buy. I buy way too much each time I go in. Lastly, just wondering the old town both during the day and at night is the real draw here. I much prefer the feel for the local community, customs, and history here than I do in the more touristy Barcelona. Don't miss the Llotja de la Seda building and the Neptune fountain at the Plaza de la Virgen. Also, one of the many claims to the Holy Grail or Chalice can be found at the Valencia Cathedral.

Valencia is the home of paella so this is the place to get it. But make sure to pick a good restaurant and call ahead to order it. Traditional here is with rabbit but I preferred my seafood version. My current favorite gelato stop in Valencia is at La Romana with multiple locations. And eating I would highly recommend Dempanadas for empanadas and Cucina Sarda for some yummy homemade Sardinian food. If you are in the mood for Italian the small Gustonuovo is nice or for Indian Swagat. Sorry that I don't have a tapas place to recommend. Also, as you are wondering around check out the Mercado de Colon, particularly at night. If you have a sweet tooth you will find churros stands everywhere around the city.


Additional photos below
Photos: 57, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Honey!!Honey!!
Honey!!

I eat tons of honey and enjoy seeing (and buying) all the different varieties in Spain!


Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 20; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb