Touring Castellon


Advertisement
Published: May 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

CastellonCastellonCastellon

A lamp post in Castellon. No, we did not find Mr. Tumnus.
When I woke up, Laura and I had breakfast. I had flan, strawberry & banana milk, a cup of coffee, and Spanish nutella on toast. Very good, but I can't get over my carb guilt. (Oh, what have you done to me, Dr. Agatston?!) We watched Beverly Hills 90210, which I haven't seen in ages. Made me want to get all the seasons on netflix. Once it was over, we got ready to go out.

I had forgotten to take my extra camera battery and it was low. :/ Laura let me borrow her camera, but I was nervous about looking touristy. (Need to get over that quick!) First, we walked to the stadium of Castellon's futbol team, but the shop was closed. After that, we walked around and learned that I always need to carry kleenex and water. Oy oy oy. So hot, but the wind felt really nice.

We had to go back to Laura's house because she had some things to do. I took a nap (I think) and when I got up, I heard her mom in the kitchen. I went in to get water and she said she was making tortillas. I was surprised
tortilla patata (or Spanish Omelette for the tourists)tortilla patata (or Spanish Omelette for the tourists)tortilla patata (or Spanish Omelette for the tourists)

Laura's mom made this for lunch. It's eggs, potatoes, and salt. Really good! I want to make it for breakfast when I get home.
because it didn't look like a tortilla, at all. Oh, no. This ended up being much, much better. When Laura got back, we had tortillas patatas (which one of the restaurants in Valencia calls "Spanish omelette").

After that, Laura and I took their dog Nikita (?) for a walk. I didn't look up Castellon before I left so, I didn't know it was going to be more of a city than a town. There were a lot of buildings, shops, and construction. We got to a long, tree-lined alleyway (?) between two roads. I don't know how long it was but it took a while! The trees gave good shade, though, so it was nice.

At the end of this was a church with a huge gold door. Um... I wish I had more to say about it. :/ It was pretty. I just can't remember much about this day since it was three days ago. It's been a whirlwind and things are getting fuzzy!

What I DO remember about this day is that Barcelona won the Champions League. Laura's mom went out to watch the match with friends and we stayed in. It was funny because
CastellonCastellonCastellon

Just a city street. I'm not sure why I took this photo. haha.
you could hear shouting and fireworks whenever they scored. At the end of the game a guy came out of the local bar, laid down a long rope, and lit it. Fireworks! It sounded like guns going off. haha. I was standing by the window waiting to take a photo, but when it went off, I screamed and ducked. haha.

There was a lot of car honking and yelling, but it wasn't crazy by Laura's building. In fact, when I went to bed, I couldn't hear anything at all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

statue in Castellonstatue in Castellon
statue in Castellon

Laura said that this was inspired by a story, but she couldn't remember it.
A tree-lined lane in CastellonA tree-lined lane in Castellon
A tree-lined lane in Castellon

I don't know how long this is, but Laura said that walking it is supposed to help with your cholesterol. Lots of people were walking or running on it.


31st May 2009

Squee!
I really like keeping up with your posts. :D I just figured out how to comment haha. Yay for pictures and even bigger yay for Courtney pictures! :D

Tot: 0.322s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb