Hola!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Alicante
January 26th 2010
Published: January 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

MeMeMe

Took this one yesterday. Once again in a WNC shirt. Surprise surprise. Didn't mean to do that but oh well. :)
Hello again!

Things are going well over here. I'm enjoying my classes a lot. I have class on Mondays and Wednesdays from 9am-1pm and Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Fridays from 10:00-12:30. Its a lot of classes but I'm learning so much!

I'm signing up for a guitarra flamenca class. I'm going to talk to a student who took it last semester and see if I can borrow his guitar so I don't have to buy my own. Hopefully that goes well. If I can't, I'll be taking a photography class because I already have an awesome camera (thanks Mom!).

I'm also going to be volunteering at the English School as a teacher's aide. This is obviously great for scholarships and experience so I'm very excited.

More cool news: I got a tutoring job!!! I'll be teaching English to a seven year old on Wednesdays from 3-4:30. This will be for the next two months and I'm getting paid 78 euros so I'm very excited. Tomorrow is my first day. If I can find more, I will.


So this is what I've been up to.

Fun stuff to know:

-they really do that European greeting where you kiss air and touch faces. A little different but I'm getting used to it.
-the sun doesn't rise til about 8 in the morning
-dinner isn't til about 8 pm or later over here and it's called tapas. Its light snacks basically. I can't think of any of the names because so far I've been too cheap to actually buy it and have just gone with friends and watched what they ate. Salads, bread, potato crap. I'll get more info on this later. 😊
-dryers basically don't exist. Just about everyone hangs their clothes from a clothesline outside their window. They don't even sell dryer sheets in the stores I've been to. When I wash my clothes, I have to plan on them being wet for another day or two.
-I'm taller than just about everybody here, including the guys. lol

Advertisement



27th January 2010

lol
I really did laugh out loud about you being taller than everybody. I guess you won't be able to do blend in and be a covert spy! Really enjoyed this blog entry overall.
28th January 2010

nice
I'm glad you got settled in so well over there. Keep these blogs coming, and take pictures of the place your staying at! I hope we can keep talking as often as we have been, despite your busy schedule. Can't wait to see you :)

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1123s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb