Jellys


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Alicante
September 20th 2005
Published: September 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I just got out of another three hour class which was a little hard to get through. I have not been sleeping well the past two nights. I think my small bed might be getting the best of me.

All of us are trying to figure out what we are going to do for our fall break. Some kids are going to Moracco and some are going to Rome. I was thinking with some kids that we would go to Athens, but that idea is turning out to be really expensive. If anyone has great ideas please let me know.

Later today I am going to walk around Alicante with my camera and take some pictures of my local hangouts so I can post them here. I want to try and walk up to the castle and watch the sun set. Peple have told me it is really pretty. You can see all of the city and the ocean.

Speaking of the ocean...yesterday some of us went swimming after La Comida (lunch) and swam out to the floats. They are a few hundred yards off the coast. Halfway there I felt like I cut myself on my stomach because it started to hurt really bad. Next thing I knew my shoulder felt cut as well. I looked at my arm and didn´t see anything. I told my buddies that my skin was itching but left it at that. So we swam out to the floats, my skin still itching and burning. We hung out there for a little bit and then started to swim back to shore. The next thing I know my buddy Mike yells out to us that he just saw a jellyfish. Then it all made sense, I had been stung. We got back to shore and when I got out of the water my shoulder and my lower stomach had these crazy red puffy strips about one inch thick. They still hurt really bad, but it was getting better. I wasn´t too worried, they were only small areas. So, I go home laughing to myself at how my family will think my adventure in the ocean would be funny. I tell them that I got stung by a (jellyfish in spanish), and they freaked out. They were asking me if my arm and stomach still hurt and that I should be taken to the ER. I was pretty confused because they were talking so fast, but they said that jellyfish can be really harmful and make you really sick. My mom told me that if my body hurt at all in the morning to tell them and they would take to to the hospital. I woke up this morning fine and I still think my family was overacting about the whole thing. Mi hermano, Alijandro, told me that this is the season for jellyfish and to watch out. I don´t think some little jellyfish are going to keep me out of the ocean, at least not for know.

Vive España...hasta.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb