Two Week Re-cap


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Alicante
September 19th 2005
Published: September 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

My RoomMy RoomMy Room

It´s awesome but my bed is kinda short.
So, setting up this whole blog thing has been a pain. I set up this blog and then tried to access it in spain and was not able to. I then set up another blog and wrote in it for an hour only to have it erased. Now I am hoping that this blog will work and will continue to work.

Alright, so Spain has been nothing short of amazing. I arrived 2 weeks ago today and I already feel like I have been here forever. Right when I walked into the orientation hotel I met some of the coolest people. I was nervous about making friends, but the people I have met here are so great.

We all thought it would be a great idea, being our first night and everything, to hit the Spanish night life with everything we had. Let me tell you that making it through orientation the next day was a miracle. Not only to Spanish people not go out until midnight or later, they stay out until no earlier than five. So all of us went out at about 10:30, hit el barrio and the rest isin´t suitable for publication. The night ended with some people in the ocean, others in the street, broken glass, a mugging, and a lot of missing euros. By the next night we had all learned our lesson, at least for that week, and had a much more sane, but still pretty crazy, tuesday night.

Wednesday came and it was time to meet our families. Everyone was super nervous. When the time finally came to meet them, it wasn´t so bad. My family rocks hardcore. I have a mom and a dad named Maria Angeles and Angel. I also have three brothers and a dog. My older brother (23) is named Alejandro and my other brothers (twins both 12) are named Daniel and Luis. We live in an apartment in San Blas. It is only about a 15 minute walk to the beach and the bars. I do have my own room but we don´t have a/c which is a little rough, but worth it. Angel and Alejandro speak a little English, but only when I am stumbling. My family is awesome, and has really made my transition to Spain really smoth.

The intensive Spanish class stared last week. My class is only seven peole and we have a really cool teacher, Mar. We have just this class for three weeks and then we move on to a more normal schedule. The only hard thing about the intensive course it that it is three hours a day. I am sure we will make it though okay.

Hopefully, this will work and everyone can keep up on Alicante at their leisure. As for me, I am headed home for Comida (lunch) and then to the beach for a little siesta in the sun.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb