Hogueras...Day Two


Advertisement
Published: June 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

DSCN2853DSCN2853DSCN2853

at the bull fight
Yesterday was full of more festivities of this week. One pretty exciting thing I did was see a Corrida de Torros (bull fight)! It was really neat to see. It is pretty gory and brutal because each one of the bulls dies but I tried to go in with and open mind. My host mom told me to look at it as an art form and part of the history and culture of Spain. I went with two of my friends and we met some Spanish men that started talking to us and offered us pipas (sunflower seeds) and a beer. They were pretty funny and they explained a lot about what was going on during the fight. They told us what makes a good torero (matador) good and what makes them bad. There really is a lot more to it than I thought. There were six bulls total and three toreros. I had a good time and was glad I went.

Last night I also got to see a bunch more of Hogueras. There are still so many I haven't seen! Today was my last day of class for the week woohoo!!

Hasta Luego!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

DSCN2833DSCN2833
DSCN2833

we could see the bulls before they went in
DSCN2870DSCN2870
DSCN2870

on la rambla. its kind of a dark picture.
DSCN2886DSCN2886
DSCN2886

out for the night!


Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb