BENICASSIM: 3 days at the beach!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Region of Murcia
July 15th 2013
Published: July 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It's Sunday afternoon and I've come back to the hotel from the beach to do some washing and start getting organised to move on tomorrow. I've spent 3 lovely - hot and humid - days here, just relaxing. I think I needed it. I have been carrying a sore hip muscle for a couple of days - I think from sleeping on buses and trains in awkward positions. I really felt I could do with a massage. I had seen a massage being given on the beach on Friday.
On Saturday, late morning, I walked to the beach - going north this time - where 'The Las Villas Path' starts. At the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th centuries, Benicassim became a centre for glamorous parties attended by renown public figures and important bourgeois from Valencia and other major towns, who had their holiday villas built along the sea front. About 28 of these villas still remain and there are information boards along the boardwalk that give details about them. The one at the most northern tip of Playa (Beach) Voramar is the Hotel Voramar. I don't think you could get any closer to the beach! I continued along the board walk, passing Playa Almadraba. Here on the beach I found just what I needed - a massage tent (like what is used at markets). Eduardo agreed to try to loosen up my hip. So onto the massage bed - swimming costume top down( and it takes me so long to get into it!) and on with a great massage. I told him that I like it hard and that is what I got! Half an hour for 25 euros. My hip feels much better.
My walk to where I sat Friday under the eucalyptus trees continued - passing tennis in the water, WC, seaside library and young boys trying to catch fish off the rocks with nets. I bought an English newspaper - they are having a heatwave (28 degrees!!!!!) and awaiting the birth of Kate and Willy's baby! I like to catch up on the important things in world news! Everyone sits within the first 10m or so of the water and the back part of the beach is used for various activities - like playing boules or badminton, and building sandcastles! A swim in the Mediterranean is really a walk in as far as you wish to go. The water is very warm and calm, yet today there was an onshore breeze, so there were small waves. Some people were trying to body surf, and I saw one boy with a boogie board. The beach is crowded until about 2pm, when they all pack up and leave! Siesta!
Saturday night in Spanish towns is loud and goes on until dawn - they surely have a good time! After a late breakfast this morning, I went to the beach again, but this time the most direct route, via the supermarket, Consum, to buy some bread and cheese for lunch. The supermarket was very crowded - it only opens in the morning on Sundays (and festival days) in July, August and September. I found some type of fruit I have never seen before. I asked a woman if it was a squashed peach - she said' No!' and tried to find me a ripe one to try. No luck. The sign said they are Paraguayo Granel. Any ideas???? The variety of fish on sale was incredible - even I could appreciate that! I never knew that there were so many varieties of octopus and calamari! Fish from all over the world - India, Norway, Ecuador, the Canary Islands and Espana!
In the main street there is a fishing shop with a vending machine - for bait etc! Also signs for a Benicassim World 'shooping' experience. Even 'Sidney' is mentioned on the sign! The town is preparing for the Festival International Benicassim (FIB) next weekend - attracts thousands and has bands like Artic Monkeys, Oasis (one of Gallaghers!). In August is held the European Reggae Festival (Sunsplash) with Bob Marley's son ad lots of other performers. Benicassim is a happening place!
Dinner here has been good - two nights at L'Estacion - pizza one night and spag bol tonight! The restaurant was celebrating being open for a year today, so there was a one man band, playing keyboard and guitar, and a eclectic mix of tunes! Quiet fun! Friday night I had a chicken, rice and vegetable meal on the way back from the beach at a terrace restaurant right on the sea front. We wont talk about Saturday night - one of thankfully not too many disasters!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0857s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb