Selva


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Navarre
November 18th 2010
Published: November 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Last weekend I went on my first excursion to the Pyrenees and had a great time hiking. And assuming only my family reads this, I'm sorry to anyone I may have just given a heart attack but yes, I enjoyed hiking. It was also my first time in a car in two months and we drove over two hours to Selva de Irrati, or at least I think that's what it's called. Being my first hiking adventure, I wasn't sure what to expect, but it was more or less a five hour walk through the foothills of the Pyrenees. We saw some beautiful landscapes and hiked around the lake. We stopped for lunch on a ledge over looking the lake and ate mandarinas and drank wine out of a leather pouch. After lunch the menfolk decided that the woods would have been perfect for paintball and started playing war with each other, especially since they had just discovered a "Bear Trap" made of sticks. Maybe there was a bit too much wine in the pouch. We carried on from the 'war zone' and encountered a huge dam at the end of our trail. As we walked across the top I was reminded again that I was hiking with men as they spit and threw things into the artificial waterfall.


We left the park at 6pm and headed for France. After experiencing some abuse at the hands of the Brits for loving castles and finding cobblestone picture-worthy, we arrived in a small town in France. We walked around and took in the city as I pretended to understand shopkeepers when everyone else laughed at their French jokes. We ended our trip at a little bar with the rudest waitress in France where we ate french bread, crossaints, goat cheese, brie, and chips and drank hard cider. On the way home we stopped in Roncesvalles and explored some religious buildings that are part of El Camino de Santiago.It was a fabulous journey and full of moments that make me feel like the life I'm living can't be real, I'm far too lucky to be able to experience things like this.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

The "Bear Trap"The "Bear Trap"
The "Bear Trap"

I don't know why they thought it was a bear trap, but what do I know?


18th November 2010

HIKE !?
Pics are beautiful.
20th November 2010

spitting
yep they must do that everywhere....

Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb