The High Road - Always take the high road.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » La Rioja » Logroño
June 27th 2013
Published: June 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Empowered to Receive Love - Abba means much the same as daddy. Thus the word Abba expresses trust, safely, confidence, belonging, and most of all intimacy. Abba implies an embracing and nurturing love which transcends all love that may come from elsewhere. Complements of Henri Nowen as translated by ME!

I have been walking with Abba father - my daddy - quite a bit. Today I walked 18 miles almost non-stop, except to watch a herd of sheep grazing with its shepard (yes a real shephard - complete with staff and dog!) watching over them. And yes I recited the 23rd Pslam to myself. Anyway I walked that 18 miles for the most part alone. Many of my friends left ahead of me and then stopped in Viana. I chose to keep going as I was in Viana by 10 or so. These times I have walking alone give me a chance to talk to myself, or Abba or the world around me. Sometimes I answer myself - a bit scary. I have found the direct questions or pleas for help (like when I am looking for a marking to confirm I am still on the Camino) get better answers from God, and he always provides an answer. There have been other things He and I have discussed that I know won't be answered so quickly or maybe not in the way I want them to be, but I know that He will answer.

So the high road. Yesterday after the miraculous fountain of wine I came to a place where I could take the shorter route - the high road - or go about 2km farther on the easier low road. I chose the high road. It was a bit harder, but not more than I could do, and I was paid off 100 fold for making that choice. Again I walked most of the time alone and was blessed by some of the most amazing scenery! It was definitely worth the extra effort. So a little lesson on taking the high road!

I had a friend ask me why I was doing the Camino. There are a lot of things that led to it - and the events that may it possible do seem to suggest I was led.... Anyway, I am 51 years young, my children are all grown, I am somewhat burned out at my job, and I am searching. Searching for a lot of things - like what next, how do I do the next 50 years better than the last, how do I unload a lot of the ghosts of the past and move forward so the next 50 can be better, and what does God have in mind for me. The Camino seemed the perfect place to figure this out - or at least start. So far it hasn't disappointed and I am not even a quarter of the way thru. It is interesting the things that have come up since I decided to do the Camino. Many which are things that need to be resolved in my life and many that need to be set right. So here I am searching and praying that my eyes and ears will be open enough to see and hear that which I search for.

And yes it is fun and adenture too. I have never been to Europe. I have been inspired by my oldest daughter's love for Spain as well. I uderstand why now. Of course I love people, and I have met so many wonderful people from so many countries. All these blessings have come my way. It is more like a dream then a reality - well except for the aching feet!

I will try to leave you with some pictures from the road today. When I get home I will put them in order and give them names. This system with a wireless keyboard and just by little ole smartphone is just to cumbersome for uploading pictures!

God's peace be with you always!

Linda


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0814s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb