Estella to Logroño


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » La Rioja » Logroño
June 16th 2011
Published: June 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Estella-> Logroño


Side viewSide viewSide view

Of me with helmet
So, now I am in Logroño. I had some doubts yesterday when it was so hot. I didn't think I would make it this far today; essentially two and a half stages for the people who walk. It was nice weather, cloudy, and gravel roads. I could finally switch from my 150mm cranks to the 125mm ones, which made it much easier on flat ground. I started at 6.30 and was in Logroño by 13, so 50km took me 7 hours, lunch and rest included, maybe 4-5 hours of effective riding. The downhills weren't too dangerous today, and It seems I've learned to handle the other ones really well. Most of the time I road on fine gravel roads, mostly no slope at all, which made for fast and not so tough rides. When passing through the suburbs although, (which is probably one of the more interesting and genuine sights, apart from the surrounding natural scenery in some occations), one has to deal with tough concrete roads uphill, but It works too if they're not too long.

On the way down from a suburb peak called Villamayor de Monjardin, I met a Japanese girl who had worked as a designer,
SandSandSand

Sandy terrain during Estella -> Logroño, just before Villamayor de Monjardin
but quit her job a couple of months ago. One more inspiring person, they're everywhere.

Another curious meeting was between me and a spanish biker. I met him in Pamplona the first time, then in Puente la Reina, maybe 20 kilometers after pamplona, and then again at the Auberge in Estella-Lizarre. And guess what, when I came to Logroño, I just had to wait five minutes before he showed up again! Quite nice guy, but there is a language barrier, so we do the best we can with combined French and Spanish.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

MudMud
Mud

Yum!
More peopleMore people
More people

I met a japanese girl on the way down. She had worked as a designer for four years, but quit her job a couple of months ago.
Sitting downSitting down
Sitting down

Enjoying sights of Estella Lizarre.


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb