The beaten path to Belorado


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » La Rioja » Granon
July 8th 2010
Published: July 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today´s walk ended with a swimming pool. A glorious, blue, shimmering, cool pool, and the relief was deep. Because I´d say today´s walk was the most difficult yet. And quite unexpectedly so. It was only a 21 km jaunt, but for some combination of reasons inner and outer, it felt like 40.
Europe´s in a heat wave so that doesn´t help. I got drunk last night watching the Spain match, so that didn´t help. I got lost in the morning, taking a wrong turn and walking 1.5km out of my way for a total of 3 lost kms. Bad bad start. Heat building steadily, bag getting heavier, shoulders aching, road stretching like a long sweaty yawn across the repetitive terrain of wheat fields. Out of the wine region now, so just wheat, wheat, more wheat.

I remember you
When the west wind moves
Among the fields of barley
Will you stay with me
Will you be my love
Among the fields of gold
--Sting

And relatively flat. Nothing to look at, no changes in terrain leads to inward gaze. No movement or change leads to stagnation. Stagnated thoughts, when they are stuck on negative things, build into a heaviness of their own. This is I suppose why humans love drama. They love change. They suck on it. As much as we whine and cry when change comes, we drink it up and ride the rollercoaster and go "whooooooooo!" When we are riding the rollercoaster we dream of still calm things, like family dinners and fireplaces and snug rugs with cats purring and hair wet from a nice shower. I used to daydream of this kind of thing when I´d be in the middle of a hellish swim practice in the cold winter water. And when we are bored, we dream of turbulence, fire, destruction, crisis. We want to be swept up by a giant wave and crushed upon the shore. Our broken bones laying all about, the puzzle pieces of some new possibly wonderful constitution.

As the road went on and on, and the heat pounded me and the sun baked me, I tried to catch some sleep as I walked. I shut my eyes and my feet kept walking. (You can do this. I´ve often tested myself. If you see a straight path in front of you, with nothing in your way, see how long you can walk with your eyes closed. It´s funny. Just don´t fall into a ditch.) At times I tried to meditate. But all of this was in an effort to make the walk go by more quickly. Which is seeking an end result. One thing I know by now is whenever you try to seek a result, when you have a picture in your mind of how you want things to go, they rarely ever do. So all my noble efforts to shrink the endless walk only made it seem longer. And the heat was hot. I have my hat here to shield my bald spot from the sun, but it is a heavy winter leathery hat, one I love too much to forsake, so I suffer from a bald sweaty head. And I accept that burden, for it is my choice.

I had some human encounters, but it was mostly an alone day. It caused the gaze in my eyes to lengthen, the space between words in my conversations to widen. When I finally arrived to Belorado, I found a hostel with a swimming pool and a backyard. I leapt in with all my clothes and my backpack. Just kidding. But I did swim. Naked. Just kidding. With a bathing suit. Enough.

Tonight, a communal meal amongst the pilgrims, some red red wine, and sleep. And then do it again tomorrow. This is day 10. Each day is exactly the same and completely different. I´m kind of hooked.

Take care
DREW



Advertisement



8th July 2010

can you paint a picture
as someone all too familiar with you wardrobe i'd like to have (dad talk, i'd like to have...i'll have) a clearer image of what you look like during this walk. the image of the sweaty, leather cap sticking to head is helpful. does this cap get your famous tosses in the air during the walk or is that too playful and energy depleting? i picture the shorts that detach from the hiking pants you bought before you left. you were quite proud of that purchase. tall while socks pilfered from dad's stockpile, 2nd drawer on left in master closet of ranch? do they cause blisters? a rotation of regular tee-shirts? red modest mouse in there? wife beater during the hotter days? what about music? you post lyrics so often though I'm not sure you are able to charge your discman when you get to the villages. lastly, thoughts and imagery - do you ever stop in the middle of the walk to write down some of this profound brainwork that you later share with us or do you just wait for it to come to you when crafting your blog entry? carry on my brother!
8th July 2010

Footnote
Cuzzie - I would like to "steal" some quotes from you. Your comment on loving change and drama is so dead on. The dream of crisis and drama when things are feeling good and calm.....why is that? I posting it on my FB page and will of course footnote DREW. XO
9th July 2010

watching
will be following your blog....I',m feeling good!!
9th July 2010

what we see depends on what we think
who knows what the next step will bring? who knows what words will pop when meeting a new person? who knows what to be, around a beautiful tree? walk well my brother hehe :)
10th July 2010

Time for a change? I know you're hooked, you say, but are you okay? I really need to know.......
10th July 2010

a response to some questions posed
or not. hat is in air often. spinning on a sweaty finger socks are unwashed, but perfect as purchased from hiking store in Bordeaux the day I left the parents with a clown nose on the train wrong socks will equal blisters. Road wisdom developments, I guess. Same me, different place. Subtle shifts of course. did you receive mailing yet if not, then shit. i put 10003 zip code and knew it might be wrong but hoping 516 E 13th apt. 2 is pretty clear anyway can´t wait to see world cup in open screen square in this city tomorrow night. wacky that spain is in it when I´m here. despite the consistent blog, mom was still very worried and concerned and wondered if I should stop...jesus christ. I sent her a personal email. it´s what she needed. how´s nyc any satellite emissions till then love broface
10th July 2010

quotables
sure cuzzie make me famous hope you are well, scott and the kiddies just sent your dad the blog. he says he is feeling well. thanks for reading! love drew

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb