Mondariz-Balneario


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Vigo
May 22nd 2009
Published: May 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mondariz is a small village about 30 minutes inland from Vigo. Its population is only around 5,000 people and from what I saw I think that 4,900 of them are over the age of 80! As soon as I got to the place I could see why everyone refers to it as a "village." It is really small, really quaint and with the exception of its new hotel/spa, it is easy to see that everything there has probably been there for hundreds of years.

I was only in Mondariz for a few hours, which was plenty. I started by seeing the hotel/spa and its surroundings. After I walked down to the river and strolled around the village's "river walk." Similar to Mondariz the river walk was very small but really nice. The village prides itself on having the most natural and best water in Galicia because of the springs/river. After doing that, I went to the center for some coffee and to relax a bit. Then I walked though the neighborhoods, watched the old people take care of their gardens (which for some reason caught my attention), then walked back to the car where Miriam was substitute teaching. Nothing to crazy or interesting but it was good to see the village and a nice half day excursion from Vigo


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb