Win in Gijon, the beach, discoteca, etc.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Vigo
February 11th 2009
Published: February 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Last weekend, February 6th, we played against a team called Gijon. We went out for pre-game shoot around in sweats because the gym was so cold. If I would have had gloves, I would have worn them. It was similar to playing basketball with Dan and Todd in New York during Xmas holidays when we were 12 years old! Luckily, we got off to a great start in the game and ended up killing the team. As for me, I layed a goose egg. Played good defense on the top scorer in the league but went 0-3 from the field. Solid DeRo, real solid:-)

A few days later I my month had run out and I found out I would be staying here for the rest of the year. I was very excited because I love this place but was a little surprised because I haven't exactly been "putting up numbers." Oh well....I'm here now, so its time to start producing and winning a championship!!!

We went out the past weekend to celebrate our point guards birthday. Myself, Tim Smith and AJ started drinking around 4pm (which is very early here considering you party till 8am the next day) and preparing dinner for other guys on the team. A few more teammates came over, we ate, then hit the discos. It was another fun night and an opportunity to Get Down On It with Tim Frost, another American teammate who never really comes out. We ended up having a blast!!!

The week was pretty normal. Run Monday, two practices Tues. and Wed., one Thur. and one Friday. Starting Wed. the weather here was beautiful. 65 degrees and sunny. Friday afternoon I we had off so I headed down to the beach. I live right by the port but the nice beaches are about a 5 minute drive and a 45 minute walk. Since it was so nice out I decided to take the camera and just walk. It was absolutely beautiful. The main beach here is called the beach of Samil. From that beach you can see the Isle Cies which have one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. There were a lot of cool spots for pics and it gave me the opportunity to see a lot more of Vigo. Some gelato on the beach, a great sunset and some fries from Mickey D's made
SunsetSunsetSunset

Isle Cies are in the background!
for an awesome afternoon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Gelato on the beach!Gelato on the beach!
Gelato on the beach!

Not quite as good as Italy but solid!
Gijon GymGijon Gym
Gijon Gym

Seats about 8k. Very nice!


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb