(2) Staying put in Hontañas!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Santiago de Compostela
October 11th 2006
Published: October 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Terror on the Camino...

Yep, I kinda knew that last ten kms yesterday wasn't a great idea. My somewhat heady optimism of the first day has given way to pair of seized ankles and a growing fear that I am not cut out for long distance hiking.

The legacy of an early childhood spent in plaster and on the operating table is making itself felt. Dr Schumack always said I'd be no sportswoman, but I've had a great deal of pleasure in proving him wrong over the years. A similar issue hit me when I was in Zakopane in Poland, and after a good days rest, the feet recovered and I was on the road again. I can only hope it is the same this time, and my worst fears are unfounded... that is, I won't be able to complete my mission. AFTER ONLY ONE DAY! How Kath would that be?!

Looks like my day will be spent in Hontanas drinking mint tea and catching up on my reading... I guess.

Unfortunately, I am not sure which of my duelling Libran tendencies is going to win out today: the "dont worry you'll be fine" side or the "fuck, fuck, fuck, fuck, fuck" side.

I really hope that when I am on the road again tomorrow (how's that for a bit of blind optimism?!) I can laugh at my nervousness and stress of today.

But dinner tonight was interesting... my Italian mate Davide, who is also having problems with his ankles - has had to stop and hobble around in Hontanas with me for the day (yes, we look ridiculous). So we dined with an Austrian women and a German man - both deeply religious people searching for some answers to questions they have for God. The evening passed in a blur of theology, religion, ethics and self governance... once again I found my beliefs and my prejudices challenged and I liked it. I still reckon the Bible's a crock of shit, but horses for courses hey?

I bow down to thee Zim...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb