The walk to Finnisterre and Muxia


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Cape Finisterre
October 7th 2012
Published: October 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hola everyone,

Its been ages since my last blog or so it feels. So much has happened and today is the final day of walking this incredible road. What will it be like to stop? Today is to Muxia tomorrow I bus back to Santiago and Tuesday fly to Alicante south of Barcelona.

The walk to Finnisterre was 3 days since last Tuesday and included a night under the stars with my RAB survival zone bivvy protecting me from a huge dew fall. I slept a fulll 8 hours that night which was one of the best sleeps Ive had in Spain.

Cape Faro lighthouse was spectacular and the cafe so good in ´the rain and high wind. Wrote emails and a postcard until my friends got there.

Last night it was 3 Aussies for dinner including amazing Kevin from Brisbane, a psych nurse who the Camino has peeled years off. He now looks so well and comfortable in his own body and softened with tears, amazing. As Ive said many times the camino is powerful for stripping off the layers of crap and then all that is leftt is love, courage and positive intention.

Sunday (domingo) 7th October.

Another long walk today out to Muxia with near constant sea fog for the first 4 hours making for an unreal although beautiful outlook and not really able to gauge progress along the way. A lunch of heuvos, chorizo and patatas with beer and coffee soon improved the situation. The second half was in clearer weather and the entry into Muxia was spectacular. Unfortunately this albergue has ultra modern pc which will not accept the Olympus xd card. So please take a look on facebook or twitter @talkwithscott.

Tomorrow it´s back to Santiago on the bus at 14:30 to pick up my left luggage at the pilgrom office and overnight before flying south on Tuesday. Or maybe just turn around and start walking back to France as the pilgrims of old would have done.

My boots and feet have done their job and tomorrow we will try to burn some of our clothes and go in the ocean although the forecast is for rain.



So travel well mi amigos y familia.

Advertisement



10th October 2012

Scott! Found You on the Web
hey man, glad to hear you made it to Finisterre! Are you still going to Montserrat after Muxia/Santiago? Tess and I are now back in Calgary and both back at work. We got back home Friday (Oct 5) evening and I am just taking a break in my workday thinking back thru the incredible life experience we all got to enjoy. It was a pleasure meeting up with you (first time in the men's room putting in contact lenses in I think it was Fromista?). Sorry I did not have as much time to chat deeper, one of the challenges of walking with my partner who is a very private person. Wishing you all the best...Buen Camino my pilgrim friend. TJ
17th October 2012

TJ wow man that's so cool
Hi TJ, really glad you found me. I really enjoyed meeting you and Tess and sharing in conversations with you. Feel free to contact me any time I'd love to stay in touch. My email is talkwithscott@gmail.com Lots of love to you both, Scott

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 29; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb