Santiagoooooo


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Cape Finisterre
July 24th 2010
Published: July 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I´ve made it to Santiago!!!!!!!......okay, so that was actually 5 days ago (there´s been so much going on, I didn´t want to spend time searching for an internet cafe). But WOW, walking through the old city of Santiago and then entering into the plaza where all of a sudden you´re standing in front of the most gorgeous cathedral you´ve ever seen-it was breathtaking. After walking every day for the past 2 weeks across a country, and then you finally arrive at the destination, a lot of things go through your mind. Whit and I just laid down in the middle of the plaa and just stared up at the cathedral for a good half hour-reflecting.
Santiago was awesome, except for how touristy it was. Windy medieval streets and so much history. The next day we went to a special pilgrims´mass inside the cathedral. I can´t even describe how awe inspiring the interior was of this place. Those Christians really know how to inspire powerful religious sentiments.
That afternoon, we caught the walking bug; we didn´t want to end there. So, we decided to walk for four more days to Finisterra-the End of the World. That´s where I am today. WE got in last night and watched the sunset over the Atlantic (I waved to all of you-I´m pretty sure I saw the Boston area people at least.) That sunset was pretty emotional. I was with my Camino Family and we all burned something from the camino. I burned my walking stick that I had been carving the whole time.
Today I take a bus back to Santiago for the festival. Supposed to be crazy-fireworks, street partys, the whole deal.
Ok, gotta go catch the bus.
Hasta Luego!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb