Pictures of the End of the World


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Cape Finisterre
August 1st 2009
Published: August 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Pictures of the End of the World



Finally, I have reached the end of the world, ie, Finisterre. For me, this is a magic place where the the sea is especially blue, the bushes and trees especially green, and in fact, everything comes to an end. Every person I met on the Camino I had to say goodbye here. My pilgrimage to Santiago has ended so that I am not a pilgrim to Santiago anymore. When - and if - I am going on I have to define a new aim (which, of course, will be the old one to find new objectives for my life...).

After having arrived here I went up to the lighthouse and put my old shoes somewhere on the cliff. The I bid them farewell with a nice little ritual. After all, they had accompanied me for 2174 km so I carried them the last 90km from Santiago to Finiesterre to give them a place of honour at the end of the world. Quite senitmental but very moving for me when saw them standing there so quietly in the sun and thinking how much joy and suffering we had spent together. Then, after a few tears, I left them for good. May they rest (and rot) in peace.

I stepped further down the cliff rocks and stayed there for a long long while, just sitting and watching the sea and listening to the waves. As the sun was shining and the sea was deep blue and reflecting the sun beams I said to myself what a perfect ending to a perfect journey as it ends with the sun shining on an endless and endlessly blue ocean.

Since that moment I couldn't have found the strength to go on. That was almost 3 weeks ago passing the time away with sitting in nice restaurants eating seafood, drining wine and beer and chatting to all sorts of people, which corresponds to just having a good time. The stage here comes slowly end. Withing the next few days I will walk on and continue my journey towards a new stage of my life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



9th August 2009

Buen escritor
Felicidades Marco...me encantó el ritual de los zapatos! además de que en verdad tienes una forma de redactar que invita a leer...creo que ya encontraste tu nueva vocación, no crees? Nosotros estamos felices ahora porque estoy como teleworker en Swiss Re y donde crees que estamos viviendo?...Cuernavaca! ...la ciudad de la eterna primavera. Cierro mi computadora y me meto a la alberca o me echo en la hamaca. Espero tener la oportunidad de hacer la ruta a Santiago que por tu culpa, ahora la tengo entre ceja y ceja...antes de volverme mas viejo, no crees? Te mando un abrazo y suerte en tus próximos proyectos. Saludos!
16th August 2009

Pues...
Hola Alejandro, mejor empiezas a prepararte para el camino y planifiques suficientemente de tiempo. Encontré a demasiado gente que tenían prisa por culpa de no tener más vacaciones. El tiempo que pasé era un encanto y sí, valía la pena cada secunda. Cuando empiezes a planificarlo házmelo saber, te voy a hacer un coaching ;-)) Por el momento sigo en Finisterre y voy a quedar aquí otros dos meses ya que podré alquilar un piso muy barato. Un abrazo, Marco

Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb