Stephanie was robbed


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
October 19th 2006
Published: October 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This is all I have in the worldThis is all I have in the worldThis is all I have in the world

LOL not really, I have all my clothes and such- BUT I can't even buy a jacket now!! And it is freezing here! (okay, not freezing . . . )
I am freezing cold in my house and do not have my wallet!

I was shopping with my friend today on calle Gran Vía and near Sol and after having a great time with Kelly AND finding the most amazing boots ever realized that I didn't have my wallet.

YES i was watching my purse and NO I did not leave it anywhere- I checked the places I made purchuses . . .

I am in the process of doing all those things you need to do when something horrible like this happens. The worst thing is that the wallet was super cute and I probably won't be able to find another one like it. The best thing is that due to my status as a starving college student abroad, I only had about 2 euro in my wallet!

ANyway- tip for travelers- you can be as alert as the President's personal body guard and STILL get robbed in Madrid.

Best just to stay away from Gran Vía and Sol when in Madrid (which of course means you won't be able to get those cheap boots or go to the BIG H and M ever)
How I feel right nowHow I feel right nowHow I feel right now

Really, really stupid. But PLEASE tell me- this happens to even the most attentive people, RIGHT???

Any words of encouragement would be very much appreciated, as I feel like a complete idiot and have once again been reminded of my eternal status as "AMERICAN TOURIST" right when I was really feeling like a fully assimilated "Madrileño".

If you would like to send me letters 😊 this is my address:

Attn. Stephanie Echeveste
Boston University Office 410
International Institute of Madrid
c/Miguel Angel 8
28010 Madrid SPAIN

I really am not panicking or anything- so please don't worry, just send money 😉 Just kidding . . .
I should be able to live off of what I have until my parents send me my replacement crap.

Until then, I may have a quick cry (because I do feel like the stupidest girl alive) and then get back to live. There are bigger problems in the world that I thankfully don't have to deal with, so I think I can handle this inconvenience.

Hasta luego.


Advertisement



21st October 2006

Mija, I just read your latest blog and want to tell you not to stress, don't worry, everything will be ok. You aren't the first person this has happened to...and you're not going to be the last. It is a bummer but it'll all work out. Take care, miss you - y me gusta leer tu blog en espanol!! -Nina
22nd October 2006

That sucks...a whole lot. I could not imagine losing my wallet or my cell phone. Each time I've misplaced them I completely freak. I don't know what I'd do if I permanently lost one of them in a foreign country. No worries...I would so cry. I hope it isn't too much of a hassle to take care orf the credit cards and stuff. Good luck.
23rd October 2006

you are crazy
Oh Steph. I can't believe you let this happen to you! Haha. And I thought the park I run past to get to my house was a shady one. Well, I'm sure it happens all the time. I could name of to you a list of people in my program that have actually got mugged - face to face with a knife and a person asking for their things. SOOoo.. consider yourself lucky. AND, I wanted to say that I think your pictures on this entry really make the story. I laughed when I saw them.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb