Greetings from Spain:)


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
May 19th 2006
Published: May 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hola amigos¡

It is about 8pm here in Madrid and still about 75 degrees outside. I believe it was about 85 today but.... (as my Mom would say).... a lovely breeze😊

I have been awake since 4:15am on Wednesday the 17th of May. I am tired tonight, so hopefully I will get some sleep. My Amtrak trip to MSP was uneventful however I didnt sleep. I was hoping I would on the flight to Madrid last night but as luck would have it the guy sitting next me had the bad case of crabs...lol.. or something as he itched his arms and head almost the entire trip. I forgot to bring some drugs that would have knocked him out for the trip (or knocked me out!). He was from Madrid and beings Europeans don´t place high value on doing things like showering daily... i suspect that was part of his itch problem. It was frustrating to say the least. I suspect I will crash tonight but the gang wants to go to see the Flamingo Dancers. I know.. a tough choice.. get some sleep... or watch Flamingo Dancers. (sleep over Flamingo Dancers anyday!).

We arrived here in Madrid on time despite leaving Newark late due to weather. The captain announced in the beginning that we would enjoy the luxury of a 90 mph tailwind on the flight which he said would cut our trip time by almost an hour. The screens on the plane said we were at 33,000 feet above sea level, traveling at 690mph, and the temp outside the plane was 45 below celsius (in other words it was damn cold). The plane was packed and there were 50 rows with 7 in each row. I watched one of the Harry Potter mov ies on the mini screen in my seat hoping Harry would cast some spell on the guys itch!!!

Our trip from the airport to the Hotel el Prado was as Bryon would say.. a cluster f***. It was a bargain at one Euro but we had to change trains 3 times and walked I don´t know how many steps hauling luggage. We must have looked pitiful as two elder Spaniards offered to help us on the last bunch of stairs. Once at the hotel that shower felt pretty good but the toothbrush probably felt even better!

This afternoon we went to the Prado national museum. T hat was quite the place. Artwork from most of the famous Spanish artists were featured. We then went to some pubs for wine and tapas (appetizers). I drank a cocoa cola light.. a Diet Coke if you will but actually tastes like our Coke. I skipped the tapas as I watched the guy prepair them and that alone was enough to turn me off.

Tonight we are going to the Plaza to drink and pass out! OK.. drink and go back to the hotel and pass out! Tomorrow we are being tourists again and it sounds like a fun day.

My hotel room is a single... has a twin bed, a shower, and small. I have had walk in closets bi gger than that entire hotel room. That otta keep us out of trouble!!!

I will close for now as we are heading to the plaza for dinner and drinks. Don´t worry Mom, I have enough Euros along to get myself out of jail! JUST kidding! I will try to journal again tomorrow night if I have the chance.

Love you all,

LB

PS.. I took some great pictures today but I don´t have my laptop along so I will not be postings pictures at this poit.

Advertisement



19th May 2006

It is in the 70s here and beautiful
Hope you all can stay out of trouble. Tell the gang hello, have fun and be safe
19th May 2006

greetings
keep blogging. Sounds like you are having a good time.
20th May 2006

Don't Worry!
Hey Girls- Sounds like you are having a blast, wish we were with you. If in jail call me, I'll post bail. Have a great time Janet Larson
20th May 2006

Sounds like fun. Have a drink for your brother and favorite sister-in-law!! Ha Ha!! Can't wait to see your picures. The girls say Hi. Love you, The Park gang!!!
20th May 2006

Keep 'em coming!
Great to get your news...I'm just enjoying your trip vicariously!!
21st May 2006

Have a fun and safe trip, sure hope you don't get crabs. Looking forward to reading future print as live vicariously through your travels.

Tot: 0.35s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0952s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb