From Carnaval to Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
March 1st 2006
Published: March 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Whoa Nelly..It´s been a crazy a week. Where to begin...
Last Friday: My knee was KILLING me for no apparent reason. My Spanish mom came with me to the doctor, and I got some anti inflammatories as well as my knee wrapped. Jeff and I cooked for the whole gang. I´m talking...homemade meatloaf and mashed potatoes and gravy. It was American comfort food.
Saturday: The gang and I put on our best costumes and headed down to Cadiz for Carnaval. Cadiz has one of the biggest carnaval celebrations in the world. It was ridiculous! The city was filled with drunk college age students in costume dancing, singing, and did I mention drinking? The city looked like the demise of human civilization....the streets were covered in empty bottles, trash, and passed out individuals. It was fun until about 2am and then I had to start babysitting those boys that couldn't handle themselves. I stayed up all night and then we caught a bus at 7am back to Ronda.
Sunday: Sunday night Jeff, Vanessa, and I took a night train to Madrid. Madrid was FAN- FRICKIN-TASTIC! The city is beautiful and it reminded me of home. There was a starbuck's on every corner...😊. We went to the Parque de Retiro, Museo de Prado (beautiful), Palacio Real....it was all just so wonderful because I was finally in a big city...away from Ronda. The hostal was decent and cheap. We enjoyed a nice American meal at TGIF...pathetic I know. We stayed there until Tuesday (Madrid..not TGIF) and then took a night train that night.
Now I'm back in good ole Ronda..hoping for the knee to feel better by tomorrow so I can take Jamie hiking tomorrow..because she loves me and is coming to visit me!

Advertisement



3rd March 2006

I LOVED the Prado! I wanna go back! I'm so jealous of you, Maddie.
5th March 2006

mo
I just saw Mo Rocca! He wore a Muck Fizzou shirt so the bad blood has been settled. Miss you and stop drinking (your liver will thank you later!)!!!

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb