My first assignment


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
February 2nd 2006
Published: February 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I haven't written anything lately and I was just thinking I should write something that shows all the little things that are different here. I don't have a lot of time so instead I'm posting my first assignment in Anthropology which basically asked for my first impression of Spain(there will be a second impression essay at the end of the semester). Some of it is probably exaggerated or random because I needed 3 pages. Okay, here it is...


My First Impressions of Spain
When I stepped off the plane in the Madrid airport, the first person I spoke to was the customs officer. He didn’t speak English and I didn’t understand what he was telling me. He was speaking very fast which is something that has not changed with the other Spaniards I have met. He didn’t seem to care that I didn’t understand and was unaccommodating. Most other Spaniards I have met do not speak any English which is a surprise to me. I was foolish to think that in Spain a lot of people would know English as well as Spanish.
After putting my bags down in the apartment, I went shopping for groceries with my suitemates. I noticed how all the food comes in small packages with even smaller packages inside. For instance, there are only 16 Oreos in one box and 4 smaller packages of 4. The orange juice only comes in cartons of 1 liter, along with the milk which I usually buy by the gallon. This might contribute to how skinny Spaniards seem to be.
The average height is also much shorter than in America. They make up for it with high heels though. Females in Spain are very fashionable, and don’t notice the cold weather. They wear skirts and short denim jackets when it could be snowing. I guess they are used to this climate. My clothes are thick and fully cover, but after one load of laundry, they are stiff and rough from drying on the line. I want to use my softening dryer sheets, especially on the towels.
The NYU program continues to warn us of pick pockets. They seem to influence me that Madrid is dangerous and scary, but I cannot imagine it being any worse than in New York City. I expect that they are exaggerating to warn us, and I hope I do not lose my money to a thief. On the streets of Madrid, I quickly get frustrated with how slow all the Spaniards walk. They patiently wait for the pedestrian light to turn green even if it is visible that there are no cars coming. Even in the metro, no one runs to catch the train, but instead they stand on the escalator knowing there will soon be another. Well, the metro is much cleaner and more efficient than the subway in New York. I enjoy the news and information of when the next train is coming, which is never more than 4 minutes.
When I first met my landlord, she gave me a kiss on each cheek and a big hug. I notice that most Spaniards are very affectionate. There is a lot of touching while they talk along with the exaggerated gestures. I notice that Spaniards have no understanding of personal space. When speaking they get very close to your face. I feel rude when I back away, but it makes me uncomfortable. Not only are they close during greetings with friends, but also with their loved ones. They have no embarrassment for showing their care for one another by making out in public.
There is a park in front of my apartment and on my walk home from school there are always parents out with their children. Especially on Sundays, fathers are playing in the park with their sons. Family values seem to be strong in Spain. I even think that the children are cuter here.
When my suitemates and I went out to eat on the first night around 8 o’clock, we were astounded to be the only customers in the restaurant. Meal times in Spain are so odd. I love the idea of siesta but how am I supposed to wait until ten at night to eat again. I get hungry much earlier than that. I admit that I like the prices and selection of the “Menu of the Day”, but everywhere you seem to go has a tremendous amount of fish. I also notice that the Spaniards drink a lot, but not to get drunk. They have control, with drinking at least; cigarettes are another story. At orientation they mentioned that 1 in every three Spaniards smoke. It might only be that many, but those who do smoke have no consideration for the people around them.
Spain is new and exciting, but is also very different and foreign compared to what I am used to. I have immersed myself in this culture and in order to take advantage of this opportunity; I need to learn and adapt. It is only my first month here and I hope to get accustomed to the environment after some time.


Advertisement



2nd February 2006

First Impressions....
this was three pages???
3rd February 2006

First impressions of Spain
Hi, I read your first impressions of Spain and thought it quite insightful. I lived in Spain on and off for 14 years. I went there first with my family in 1959 as a 3 yr old child. My dad was stationed at Moron AB- near Sevilla for 3 1/2 years. I joined the Air Force in 1974 and was stationed at Torrejon AB- near Madrid, as my first assignment. Franco was still in power then, and Spain was a bit different....very catholic, and alot of police. I remember being very homesick for the U.S. at the time. I met my wife, Rosa, at a friends house in Madrid. I was 20, she was 18 at the time. I could speak about as much spanish as you at the time, and Rosa spoke no english. Unbelievably...we are still happily married after 30 years. (she's from Valencia, btw...awesome city). I did 2 more tours in Spain...4 years at Zaragoza AB, and another 4 years at Torrejon AB. With the cold war over, the U.S. closed the bases at Torrejon and Zaragoza, and Moron AB is in caretaker status. I have 3 daughters - 2 of them born in Spain. Monica, 29, a high school teacher lives with her husband in Albuquerque, NM., Sandra 24, student, and Vanessa 23, student, live with us a block away from them there. I retired from the Air Force in 1995 and now am a Telecom Field Service Engineer. I travel all over the U.S.- 300+ days a year. We plan on retiring in Spain near Valencia. Enjoy your time in Spain.
4th February 2006

goin to spain as well
sounds intresting i am going march 8th for 2 months. I have been taking spainish for 2 years in school so i will surive no english ( hopefully) but i dont know about the talking up close.. humm maybe i will get a shirt in spanish that says 'there is an imaginary bubble half a meter aorund me please dont cross it" Erin.

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0812s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb