Classes Start...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
January 17th 2006
Published: January 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So classes started yesterday. I decided that I don't think I'm going to like the classes I chose. So of course I have a required 6 credit intensive language class, which I actually love. Then only 2 other classes, worth 4 credits each to have a 14 credit load. They two classes I enrolled in originally are, Culture of Spain:An Anthropology Perspective, and Garcia Lorca: Theater and Poetry. Because I wasn't sure about them, I also went to the other classes offerered in English, Global Economics and the EU, Intro to Latin American culture, Seminar: Fascism, A look into the Prado Museum. Those are ALL the classes in english here. I have no good choices. I wouldn't mind learning about some of these subjects, but the work is crazy. All have research papers(around 10 pages), most have oral presentations(a 60 min one for Econ), and lots of essays. So the lesser of these evils, well I think I'm going to keep Anthro and change to Fascism. Whatever.
So today we visited the Prado Museum which was pretty nice. I have one or two pictures, but the better thing... our tour guide, which is usually a teacher, was instead an ex teacher
JesusJesusJesus

Sorry I forgot what she said about this painting. I just remember the details and how lifelike it was.
whose class got cancelled. She taught Intro to Drawing. I would love that class. So a group of us are going tomorrow to ask for an independent study worth 2 credits with her. Hopefully it will work, and then I'll have 6 credits. That would be awesome. Not only would we draw, but also do some art history, which would mean more free museum trips. I hope it works. Wish me Good Luck!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Some one got in my waySome one got in my way
Some one got in my way

Well, this piece by Valazquez is supossed to be his best work and the best work ever on aerial perspective(i think that has to do with the placement of the light to make depth). Not only that, it's in my apartment. I've stared at it randomly not even knowing it was famous or even real, and when I saw it at the museum, I flipped, and then she told me it's probably the best in the museum, I continued to flip. I thought that was cool.
A close upA close up
A close up

I should also mention that this painting is of the king's yougest daughter(hello, ME) and she's thirsty so her servants get her a drink. She has just walked in on Valazquez painting. That's Valazquez on the left, he's the first painter(i think or it was just very rare) that put himself into the picture. And if you can see in the mirror in the back, the King and Queen are posing which gives the idea that you are standing with them. Also Valazquez didn't paint the red mark on his coat until right before he died, because he had finally gotten into soe Spanish thing that wouldn't let him in for the longest because his father was Porteguese. Okay, this is basically the only paiting I remember anything about, and now you know it all!!


Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb