Getting settled


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
January 8th 2006
Published: January 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

In MadridIn MadridIn Madrid

My first view of Madrid, the airport parking lot.
Even though the plane was late, the NYU people were still there, thank god! So I met up with them, and they watched my bags while I exchanged my travelers checks into Euros. We then left on a bus with other students to downtown Madrid where I took a taxi to my apartment. I yelled up to my suitemates who were already there, and they helped me with my stuff.
So yeah my suitemates are Yelena and Howard. They are both in Stern and basically cool people. We chose rooms and then went to talk to the landlady. Her name is Conchita. She is a sweet older lady with 7 children, but speaks no english. Thankfully Howard speaks decent spanish, so it wasn't that bad. We gave our first months rent and I got my keys. We had a problem with the contract so we told her we would talk to NYU before signing it.
We then went grocery shopping at El Corte Ingles. It's a huge clothing and furniture store with a large supermarket in the basement. We bought some food and I bought a new calling card, because my other one wasn't working. After we brought the phone back, I'll called the parents to let them know I was okay. After that we basically tried for internet and failed, unpacked, and went to sleep early.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

The entrance hallwayThe entrance hallway
The entrance hallway

The door on the right is Howard's section: bedroom and bathroom.
Kitchen Part 1Kitchen Part 1
Kitchen Part 1

The washer(no dryer) and the sink.
Kitchen Part 2Kitchen Part 2
Kitchen Part 2

The stove(no oven), microwave, dishwasher and 2 fridges.
The dining roomThe dining room
The dining room

Both of my suitemates are there. Yelena is sitting on the computer and Howard has his head down.
The living roomThe living room
The living room

Or the random room with 3 couches that we will most likely never use.
The girls' hallwayThe girls' hallway
The girls' hallway

Yelena's room is straight forward, the bathroom is to the left and my room is to the right.
The girls' bathroomThe girls' bathroom
The girls' bathroom

Through the windows we hang our laundry to dry on lines. It's so interesting.
My bedroomMy bedroom
My bedroom

My room is already a mess!
My mirrorMy mirror
My mirror

There are these notes I keep finding in my stuff from these really sweet people. They hang around my mirror along with other things from sweet people. I love you guys! Thanks!


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb