The evening...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
October 7th 2005
Published: March 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

statue and neon signstatue and neon signstatue and neon sign

this was taken on our way to the Irish pub...
As promised, pictures of the Flamenco Show in the evening. Things here get started very late. The Flamenco Show, originally scheduled for 22:30 did not begin til 23:00. We had some time to kill and with much pursuasion were led into the closest bar, Shooters. The kids of our crew (by kids I mean the 18 and some year olds) immediately began taking shots and consuming mass quantities of alcohol. Which, I have to say, made the Flamenco Show that much more interesting.

The show was like nothing I've ever seen. It was more than I imagined it to be. It's impossible to know the images, the feel, and the life from looking at pictures in a book. The intensity in the performers' faces, the colors, the music. Not one person in our group seemed to be disappointd with what they were experiencing. Our group was full of whistles, cheers, and the occasional "Ole´!" All patrons were served one free drink with their entry. Most of us hadn't eaten, so any amount of alcohol was more than enough to give that warm feeling. I opted to order an extra glass of Sangria. Denise didn't finish hers and offered it to
Spanish boysSpanish boysSpanish boys

It was great how they reacted to the camera. I screamed, then they screamed.
me. By the show's end, I was a pint of beer and four Sangria's under. The show lasted til about 1:30am. Like I said, Spain gets started late, so this was the perfect time for us to start our evening. (The view from my seat did not offer the photo ops. that I wished for, so most of the pictures from the show were taken by my school peer, Jesse. He took amazing photos. I'm jealous.)

One of our tour guides, Tori, walked us to an Irish Pub... I think the name of it was O'Connell's (?). I believe there were about 30 of us in there. The details of the evening are a little fuzzy, especially after the car bombs. I do know that I had met a couple people from England and a few locals. And, contrary to some myths, most girls are really nice. And, I was not groped by any Spanish men. The few that I have met have been very polite. They are comprable to most of our drunken Man Joses. Not to say that there are not any cheeky men here. At the end of the evening, on our way back to the hotel, I did hit a guy for grabbing a girl in our group. Had to be done.

Alright. I think I'm done for now. I just recently got out of bed. I stumbled out around 18:30 this evening for my breakfast at the hotel cafeteria. I missed the morning tour of Madrid as did almost half of us. So, enjoy the pictures! Apologies for not offering more, but I'm doing my best to record as much as I can.

**I promised Ben, a student from Tahoe, that I would post pictures of him and his friends on this site. So, Ben and friends, enjoy!
Yes, Kelli, I did get some pictures with me in them too.
By the way, these pictures fall out of order for some reason. Next time I will edit them before putting them up so they will be in order. Sorry.

Thanks to all of you who replied. It's good to know that some of you are watching and miss me. I miss you too! Thanks for allowing me to take time out of my life to live this.
Kirschke: Best quote ever on your email. I think that's going to be my
Pub pics 1Pub pics 1Pub pics 1

Taken in the cellar at the pub.
quote on here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Pub pics 2Pub pics 2
Pub pics 2

Taken in the cellar at the pub.
Pub pics 3Pub pics 3
Pub pics 3

Spanish guys
Pub pics 4Pub pics 4
Pub pics 4

Amy and I. SMOOCHES!!
Pub pics 5Pub pics 5
Pub pics 5

Jesse and James. Met James upstairs, he's from England.
Pub pics 6Pub pics 6
Pub pics 6

James, his friend, and Kristen.
Pub pics 6Pub pics 6
Pub pics 6

Jenna, Jenny, and I.
End of nightEnd of night
End of night

Jesse, Ben, and some of Amy.
Out of order...Out of order...
Out of order...

Tahoe Crew... and Jesse. Taken before the show.
Out of order...Out of order...
Out of order...

Boys... from our group..
Out of order...Out of order...
Out of order...

Guy shot. AIFS kids. Taken outside of Flamenco Resaurant before show.
Group shotGroup shot
Group shot

As many of us as we could fit into this shot. Blurry...
Out of order...Out of order...
Out of order...

Girls in AIFS...
Out of order...Out of order...
Out of order...

graffiti in the Shooter's bathroom.
Out of order...Out of order...
Out of order...

After minutes of trying how to figure out where the hell the flusher was, I looked up and saw this... Just something different I felt I had to inform you of, in case you get stuck in the same predicament.
Out of order...Out of order...
Out of order...

This is a light switch found in many Servicios. The lights will turn off while you are still sitting, so don't be startled, just push it again.


8th October 2005

ole!
oh girl, the night looks like so much fun. i have a feeling that every journal entry is going to get me more n more excited for my trip to espana! i am so excited to you! the pictures are awesome! i miss u a bunch ut i know u r going to come back with some great stories! which is what life is all about . . . live it up, girl!!!
9th October 2005

Ole!
Yay! How fun to see you! That makes me smile. I LOVE seeing where you are...and who you are with. It looks like you are all having a great time. That flamenco dancing looks beautiful...and I'm sure the pictures don't do it justice. Maybe you can take lessons when you come home. :) Thanks for all the useful info on servicios...looks like that will be the running theme throughout your entries. ;) You are missed very much by all of us...but I am so proud of you for being there and having the courage to live out one of your dreams...the first of many, I am sure...and I am so thankful that through the miracle of technology, we are able to share it with you. Stay safe, get some rest, eat well, and remember how much you are loved and missed...Ole! :)
10th October 2005

hi corri
Am enjoying all your pictures and your journal entries.....with your sister's help. I already forgot half of the things she showed me. You really seem to be enjoying your new venture. How is your new home? Remember what I said about not belching.....we don't want your new family to think that we didn't teach you any manners. We all miss you ....everytime the dogs start barking I think that it's you raiding our refrigerator. Bye......love you......gm and ricky
10th October 2005

Welcome
Hi. I´m glad to hear you did it save and sound. Hope you enjoy it here -seems you are already doing it- even though the weather is getting worse these days. Autumm is here. As far as I know Madrid is undertaking a deep transformation - 20 kms of the main ring-road are being covered to make a huge park, they dig 2 new tunnels from north to south of the city, new terminals for the airport and some others and the result of it all are hundreds of cranes and a gigantic mess with traffic. Take it easy. Keep the blog going and let me know if you need any information or don't understand anything . Gus_granada. P.D. No matter what they say, I think most spanish guys are shy :)
11th October 2005

YAHOO!!!
Corri....It's so great to come here and read your journal. I love looking at your pictures and YES...it's great to see you in a few more too!!It's so exciting to live through your experience and looking through your pictures. Too funny about the flushers there, maybe you should bring your minnie flashlight when using the Shooters Sevicios? Thanks for taking the time to share these great photos too, everyone seems to be having so much FUN!!! Keep posting, I'm having FUN reading about all of the different places there. How's the food? Do they celebrate Halloween over there? I think I'm ready for another vacation!!!!! Love ya bunches!!! ing :)
11th October 2005

So...you found a pub? Never would have guessed. Lots of Happy pics, I see.

Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb